What is love? Turtles?

in #book7 years ago

  "You remember your first love because they show you, prove to you, that you can love and be loved, that nothing in this world is deserved except for love, that love is both how you became a person, and why."  
 That quote is from the novel Turtles All the Way Down by John Green.  I was going to write a unique review for Steemit but, I decided that the review I wrote on Goodreads was pretty good so I'm gonna leave that review on here.  Let me know what you think.

 John Green delivers another good book. Turtles All the Way Down is a novel that deals with mental illness, loss, relationships, and grasping to understand the people in your life. One thing that I like about this novel, including to and aside from everything else, is how Green shows the characters relating to each other in respect to their different socioeconomic vantage points. That's something I haven't seen in a YA novel. This novel had a few different layers to it and was complex- yet easy to follow along with in terms of the story. Green always seems to write his YA books in a way that never talks down to his readers and treats his intended audience (young adults) as mature young people on the brink of adulthood. I've read many YA books that are written in such a way that the characters seem like immature older children instead of mature young adults. Green has respect for his intended audience and it shows in his work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50