Found out my friend returns books right after reading them.

in #book6 months ago

Today, I received a book I ordered online while my friend was over. While I was ripping open the pacakage, she noticed my visible disappointment.

I told her that the book looked used. Generally, I don't mind buying second-hand books, but I bought this expecting it to be brand new. The sides and corners of the cover are peeled and some, broken. The cover also has some traces of ink.

She then told me that someone must've bought it, read it, then returned it. That it's normal and that she has always done that since amazon lets you return books for free within 15 days, and other places, such as local bookstores, within 7.

I was both surprised and appalled. She must've noticed. She frantically tried to explain herself. The economy, the prices, etc...

Personally, I found her actions wrong and tried explaining to her the losses the publishers and the bookstores face because of this, instead she got mad at me, accused me of hinting that she was a thief, told me I was terrible friend, and left.

I do not believe I was in the wrong for my views towards her actions, but I was wondering if anyone else may have a different opinion regarding this.

Edit: For anyone wondering, I'm not in the USA. Not remotely close! But the libby app that everyone is bringing up seems to be very useful, I'm jealous!

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44