The Journey's What Brings Us Happiness Not The Destination.

in #book7 years ago (edited)

1508418762_featured.jpeg

Lately, I have been going through a lot, both at professional and personal level.

So, I took the recent break to re-read a book that guided me when I was seriously thinking about working on myself and my self development few years ago - Way of the Peaceful Warrior: A Book That Changes Lives by Dan Millman.

Previously, the book helped me to change the way I saw the world and my life. It was an easy and fun read (the author does humor well). It's not a step by step book, its not a book that tells you how you should do it - instead it guides you in asking the right questions and to look inside yourself. It teaches you to reflect on what you should for you.

The Way Of The Peaceful Warrior - Dan Millman. Lesson learned: The Journey's What Brings Us Happiness Not The Destination. Lesson Learned: The Journey's What Brings Us Happiness Not The Destination.


The second time around with the book, I found the answer I was looking for through a conversation between Socrates and an arrogant yet talented college kid, Dan.

It's a part where both are hiking up a big mountain as Socrates has promised Dan that a great surprise is waiting for them at the top. Dan (who loves to get better at his own craft) gets excited on the way - he sings, laughs and spend hours climbing the mountain expecting a big reward.
Dan: Hey, please tell me we're getting a little closer. Come on, Soc, it's been three hours, man.

After a bit of hiking, they stop. There's nothing special around them.
Socrates: Now, we're here.
Dan: We're where?
Socrates: At what I came to show you.
Dan: What, the view?
Socrates: There, next to your foot.
Dan: The flower?
Socrates: No.
Dan: Better not be.

Socrates looks around and kicks a rock that's laying on the ground.
Socrates: The rock.
Dan: There's something special about the rock? (Dan is definitely annoyed)
Socrates: Something wrong?
Dan: Come on, Soc! This is what I was finally ready to see?
Socrates: Well, the whole trip up here, you were excited, you were happy.
Dan: Yeah, because I thought I was gonna see something!
Socrates: You were like a kid on Christmas morning. You said so yourself. The whole trip up here, it made you feel good.
Dan: Because for the past three hours I've been waiting to see this wonderful thing.
Socrates: Well, what changed?
Dan: That there's nothing here but this rock!

Dan is really disappointed and pissed that he didn't find anything 'worthy' at the top.
Socrates: I probably should have told you that before we left, huh? But I guess, I wasn't sure what we'd find, either. Never am. Sorry you're not happy anymore.

Saying that, Socrates starts to walk down from the top. Dan looks around and says:
Dan: The journey.

Socrates looks back.
Dan: The journey's what brings us happiness not the destination.

Socrates smiles at Dan with the 'proud dad' grin.


The Journey.


The book helped me to put a new perspective what's happening in my own life. Things are looking hard because I am concentrating on the destination. I have to reframe my attention to the the journey instead of the destination to enjoy it. Again, the book helped in what I should do, but not how.

The principle here is to realize that the journey to the goal, not the goal itself, is usually the most exciting and rewarding. This is especially hard if you are addicted to success and enjoy being an overachiever. If you are reading Dconstrct, I am sure you are on the same page too.

I spent the rest of the two day break figuring out the how to reframe my mind set. I set out all my goals and committed to reach it with the best I have. But this time around, I am committed to also taking more time to enjoy the journey. I also decided to set the journey as the priority instead of the speed at which I reach the destination.

I know where our dreams take us, there's going to be a lot of rocks at the top. Don't miss the journey at the expense of being tunnel visioned by the destination.

There is no path to happiness, happiness is the path. There is no path to love, love is the path. There is no path to peace, peace is the path.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dconstrct, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @dconstrct! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dconstrct! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dconstrct! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63