I Used to Be a Miserable F*%! by John Kim | Book Review

in #book4 years ago

My latest post: http://www.coreysleep.net/i-used-to-be-a-miserable-f-by-john-kim-book-review/

Miserable F*** might just be an understatement for describing John Kim’s life only a decade ago.

He crapped all over his marriage to a great girl, and the divorce broke him. But the break was exactly what he needed to wake up and, finally, grow up.

I love Kim’s honesty. He’s a therapist at heart (and in real life), and I benefited from his vulnerability. Apparently, I’m not the only one with issues. Good to know.

He reminds us that there’s a lot of ugly in life, and hiding from it doesn’t help. When you see that ugly for what it is, it scares you into action.

Ultimately, that’s John Kim’s heart: he wants men to grow up. He tries to masculinize therapy, which I appreciate. He doesn’t pull punches, nor does he use much fluffy or awkward language. It’s plain and simple. He really is trying to reach the “everyman,” and I think he does a good job.

All that said, I didn’t love Kim’s writing style. It’s jagged and jarring, and at times disorienting even though the book is laid out so simply. I recommend reading John Kim like his shot glass metaphor would suggest: one or two of the short, punchy chapters coupled with some reflection (what, you don’t meditate after shots?). If you’re a journal/prayer/meditation guy (or gal), do it, and think about something you can change that day.

My other beef: sometimes the book feels like a list of dos and don’ts. Actually, that’s pretty much exactly what it is, and it’s intentional. Could just be my preference, but I wanted a more thoughtful treatment of life, love, and duty.

When he comes to those crossroads, Kim simply says you have to “find your own truth.” I hate how post-modern and cliche that sounds, but I get why he says it. He can’t tell you what your life is about, and as a therapist, he doesn’t want to. Still, it feels like he’s dodging something important.

That said, I still feel a sense of meaning in reading Kim’s story and his transformation. It’s archetypal, and always beautiful, for a human being to hit rock bottom only to rise from the ashes. I’m inspired.

John Kim is helping me grow up.

Would recommend.

(In short bursts).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49