How Dale Carnegie's book helped me to overcome a scourge!

in #book-review6 years ago

Some times in life, there are moments words may not properly define, how we feel and what made us feel that way. One of such moments that most of us have experienced is when we get to face an audience for the first time in our lifetime.
Some describe it as a moment they wish they cease to exist, some find it extra hard to breathe at that moment talk less utter a word, literally becoming dumb, while others just loose themselves at that moment loosing their poise and guile and appearing confused and uncoordinated.

As am writing this article, am recalling the first time I had to face an audience, back in my secondary school days, when I was asked to address the school assembly and lead them in the morning rituals before each student disparse to their various classes. And I could recall standing there dumb for minutes as if I lost my senses, seems like the gaze was only but draining my energy, so fast than a candle wax exposed to heat.

Looking back now, I can't but laugh at my humble self and every time I remember those moment, I wear a chuckle on my face.

The transformation that has happened from then till now is simply amazing because I remember back then they use to call me a shy boy and one of my teacher would say ' Doesn't even have guts to woo a girl' oh poor me!
But today I can say am a better person when it comes to that aspect as have had quite some success on that front over the last few years

Now I try to analyse my past me with my present me and I found a lot of perspective to that. One of the things I realised was that am not necessarily a timid person back then, but then I let buck feeling override me with precision every time am faced with one of my past challenges. I got this insight from a famous author, Dale Carnegie, in his book titled : How to develop self-confidence and influence people by public speaking.

In this book;

Dale Carnegie describes buck fever as a state of intense nervous excitement, which he further explained as that feeling you get the first time you see a buck or goes into battle or in your case the first time you face an audience

He went on to further state the Solution!!!

What the subject needs is not courage but nerve control and cool headedness, as soon as he mentioned these two words, it became clear to me that this was the difference between my past person and my present personality. I struck gold!

And also suggest how we can get it practically

  • by practice to set you on the right path of gaining control over your nerve

  • by custom to keep you in the mood every day

  • by repetition to get you into the habit

So it appears there is no magic stroke to getting over your nerves
The key is to Practice! Practice!! Practice!!!. I cannot stress this enough and we must persevere to a large extent.

To be a Leader, you must be a Reader!

So take a seconds and ask yourself this questions

  • Have I done an honest self-assessment of yourself?

  • Have I learnt from your past experiences and use it to advantage?

  • Do you still have stage fright anytime you face an audience?

  • And you want to learn how to learn nerve control and public speaking

If you are struggling to answer any of first 3 question appropriately, I suggest you read Dale Carnegie's book on "How To Develop Self-confidence and influence people through public speaking"



My 2010 copy

It's still a good old book and can be really helpful to people facing a similar challenge and the good thing is even teenagers can read it and still relate with it #dontjudgeabookbyitscover.

Thanks for reading!

I hope you find this helpful. If yes, please leave an Upvote/Comment/Resteem


or you could just Follow me for more interesting articles on Life, Book review and Cryptocurrency.

@apiprincz

Sort:  

great article.dear,thanks for good sharing.upvote+ resteemed by @lovelu3650

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98