You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things to consider to transplant a bonsai tree into a training pot [Bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago

Cheers, I'm really digging this way of learning with your advice and well put step by step instructions. Thank you! I wish I could have posted what I did with my lime so you would have an extra starting point for your adventure.

Did you fear to lose one of the plants if you put them into separate pots, or did you just decided to blend them together as before without giving it much thought?

I would encourage to separate the smaller one on a later stage of their development, since you can clearly see that its growth has been really poor when compared to the other taking advantage of the nutrients served on the soil. Remember that nature isn't always nice in these sort of evolutive scenarios. The thing I can say to not make you doubt it too much is that citrus have the ability to "survive" growing close together. But that works better when they're young. You can start dozens of seeds into one tiny cup, but when the roots start to get wider the best thing to do is to separate them and put only one into each pot/space. The main reason for that is that as you could see, a citrus root system is really wide and needs the most space to grow freely those many thinner roots.

My only doubt would be if when you fix the roots with wires, did you put wood on the bottom? I think I really need your help to explain this maybe in a post, where I can tell what I did with my lime tree, and the other ones I have. Don't know if you remember, these roots/trunk are very stiff or hard to shape, and they tend to keep a hard overall structure, so in order to have a better and healthier root system you need to elevate as much as you can the level or height in the pot where you set the root system lower part. I always try to even let the higher roots above the soil for a couple of days/weeks, to see if that nebari does strenghten in a better, healthier and faster way. If you put the roots too down into the pot maybe they won't rot (if you have a good draining system), but it's harder for the plant to develop more roots if it's already at the bottom of the pot. And you have to be very careful with the watering, because if you have wood inside the pot, you could get some rotten roots. Maybe to water them once a day, but only use an ammount of water that is lower than the ammount of soil, that means if you have 5 cups of soil in the pot, use no more than two for the humidity of the soil. But the best way to know for sure is to check how the soil itself is doing with which ammount of water you're giving it.

Prepare to see how those roots are going to reach in no time outside that net lol, with your current weather I think you will watch a lot of growth in no time Such a cool move that you went for!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience. The wood I added mainly for support in a lateral direction, so the wires would not crush the oddly shaped roots into a flat shape that might snap them.

I'm going rogue by growing them so close together. We'll see what happens once the roots start developing, and I race to keep the tree pruned down small. Definitely not the natural way the tree would like to grow. 'Tis the bonsai way.

I think you'll have a blast with your citrus! Maybe it depends a lot of your climate conditions too, but those grow pretty quick and I believe that they do that also based on those same conditions plus the ones you provide. I'm always following your track so I can pick up what you show and what you notice when doing these kind of works. As always, it's a great help for me to see what you think and how you put things clear enough for our learning and better understanding, it's almost as we're right there taking a class! Have a great weekend @creativetruth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82