You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing a Maple Tree for Spring [Bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago (edited)

Exactly! I was not only thinking about that a couple weeks ago, to use taller plants as a roof or at least take some of the direct sun from the medium and little ones, but the idea of turning an arid zone into a new microclimate is what I was trying to explain as my new acquired talent over here. Even to move them around in pots is something I was planning not too long ago. The main problem is that of resources. Like I said, there are ways to find nice palm trees or the coco coir already treated to prevent bad fungus, but they aren't anywhere near, and aren't any cheap either. There are food growers but most of them only plant papaya (nice one for taking light and heat), watermelons, cantaloupes, and squash too. In some areas you can find plantain and bananas, but it's not that common now because of problems with the water supply. Most people would suggest not to grow anything in the entire peninsula I live in, cause even being surrounded by sea, the companies around aren't capable to have a nice water supply system for the population, (don't get me started with the government lol) but the fact is that what I'm doing here you can count with your hand the other ones doing the same thing. For me to buy a decent size palm tree it would mean to spend almost an entire month of my income. That's why I decided to grow them in the first place, to be able to sell them to hotels, malls and even larger areas. I had a couple of them but like I said, even those that you would say can take the direct sunlight really cannot. The sunlight here can kill anything without a proper watering. How did I solve that?? Easy, I used greenhouse theory to always try to manage humidity in the area, because it isn't just the shade that you need, it's also to transform the soil and that everything can be put together without interrupting the micro-system needs, that means temperature and soil as well. I'm currently using different combinations of plants to turn the soil into a more healthy and less clay to bake, using also grass to maintain the humidity, because mulching isn't enough. One more thing that I considered as I thought about moving the taller trees around in pots was what I call the "sunlight's redirection or redistribution", it means that if I have let's say 50 plants in a zone and I still feel like there's more light or heat than they can handle, I put more resistant plants into the area so they help not only with their shadow, but abosrbing and transforming the heat into cooler winds. My main experiment consists in how trees have that ability to cool down an area. It's not just about shadow, they serve as a water plant that builds oxygen into the air, making it cooler as the water moves around and even within the plant itself (Most oxygen is vapor made by the heat to the soil, not within the plant). Many can turn any pollution into cool and less contaminated air to breathe, and if they create that of a cycle, that means that the winds are kind of regulated by the humidity that the sun and the trees make happen. So I learned not to use only the "roof technique" but to involve also air, water and earth, including rocks and even animals, of course, to the micro-climate. Every ecosystem interacts and manages the weather more than we think. We also have the power to do so. And that is what I'm trying to accomplish not only in my region, but in a more promising scenario, in which I can put all of my work into new projects. My yard can do fine, but the entire town and country is falling apart, and this is because most of the population still don't understand that we need to be involved in our development as communities, as people in order to survive any crisis. It's very hard to try to help others when you hardly can do so little, and that is what you can hear most people here say. But I'm not going to be one of those. I'm sure that I can set a great example, and we are proof of that! I'm aware of the many accomplishments that working with the environment has, and I'm confident that there is a way to restore this climate at least to a point in which one can look at a healthy land instead of a desertic abandoned town!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59097.45
ETH 2611.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42