Bonsai common pests - Sooty mold.

in #bonsai6 years ago

This is really a bi-product of another infestation.

Sooty mold thrives on honeydew, the secretions of aphids, scale insects and other sap suckers.

In the below picture you can see the white scale insects, ants are present because they are busy "farming" the scale insects for their honeydew secretions and the leaves are also covered in the black, sooty mold which is also thriving on the scale insect honeydew secretions.

Scale and sooty mold on a Eucalyptus tree.jpg
By Bidgee, CC BY 3.0, Link

One needs to get rid of the sap suckers to get rid of the sooty mold. If not your bonsai may soon take on the appearance below, over and above the damage and spreading of diseases that the sap-sucking insects are inducing by their parasitic activities.


image source

Sometimes when sooty mold presents itself it is the first we may notice of some type of infestation. The quickest solution is to identify the source of the honeydew or in other words which specific insect is secreting it and then dealing with it in the most appropriate way consistent with the level of infestation.

Sort:  

Hello, Thanks for sharing this interesting post!

those things are destructive , they are messing up the trees

Aphids are so creepy and disgusting They are also highly destructive.

Really educative and in my opinion this stuff for sure will help those people who do gardening and plantation and they can get some inputs to protect these plants and in my opinion Steem Platform can become an natural platform where people have direct access with information and also people can take advices of plantation from fellow Steemians and how to protect their plants and trees from damaging. Keep sharing these informative tips with people and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

the disease of this plant will greatly negatively impact the growth of the plant. because it causes disruption of the process of photosynthesis.

Wow didn't know about this insects. Good to know, I'll be aware.

wow, that's a hot mess. A good reminder that bugs often cause fungal infections. Should you do a sulfur treatment after you get rid of the pest or will it resolve on its own when it stops getting honeydew?

OHH! Horrible! I didn't knew about that, Thanks man for letting me know about that.

By the way i am a traveler so you may like my travel blog too. Travel Series (Part #3) St. Lucia Iceland, A Romantic Getaway

I have always seen those white things in my plants, but I did not know where they came from and what they were, thank you very much for this information.

I get a very small amount of this dark colored type of mold but I get more of a white chalky type of build up on tomato leaves.
Can anyone tell me what this is from? I have posts on my page with pics of my tomatoes. Thanks for looking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68