Bonsai common pests - Powdery mildew.

in #bonsai6 years ago

Anybody that has grown pumpkins and other squash plants should easily recognize powdery mildew, since it is very common in these large leafed plants.

Downy and Powdery mildew on grape leaf.JPG
By The original uploader was Agne27 at English Wikipedia - USDA ARS, Public Domain, Link

It's fungal, non-fatal but very unsightly on bonsai. It is usually more likely to appear during the more humid times of the season. Humidity and moderate temperatures allow the fungus to thrive and spread rapidly. It may appear at first on the underside of leaves as small white powdery blotches but can eventually spread to cover the entire plant or everything which is above ground.

Aphids and other sucking insects are vectors for this fungus and often controlling them can assist greatly in reducing the outbreak of powdery mildew.

Increased air circulation, even resorting to fans if necessary can also reduce its prevalence among bonsai plants during susceptible periods.

Once it is present it can be treated with a systemic fungicide.

Sort:  

I have a pumpkin garden. I actually recognise the powdery mildew, but I didn't know much about it. I think I'm pretty informed now.

How many reasons do you have in this post dear friend @hilarski, I totally share your words, many arrive thinking only about the money that can be earned, without thinking about the sacrifice and commitment that is being here.
Thank you very much for sharing these tips.
I wish you a great day

Please stop spamming..in his post,there's nothing like working hard on steemit..please next time first read before you comment.

And I love the extremely multicultural plants.Features for this description.

The bonsai generates good energy especially if you have it in the space of your home. Thanks for this post in this way we can know more about our plants and their pests.

If you would like more practical gardening information, from a real gardener please check out my Blog @mobios, I have worked hard to grow a following of over 500 people, without plagiarizing other peoples work. I focus on original content that deals in permaculture as well as my wife's beautiful photography, please come check me out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84