Discovering my true roots... a tragic tale of two plants in one container

in #bonsai6 years ago

IMG_5267.jpg

The weekend I spent a hour untangling the lily's roots from my Podocarpus latifolius (Geelhout). It was a bit more difficult than I expected as the roots where so infused with each other you could barely separate the lily's roots from the trees roots. I have put this off for far to long so I just had to jump in and do it.

IMG_5263.jpg

This was the first step after I removed the tree from the bag. It did not look like there is much roots in the bag. At this point I started to doubt the decision to separate the two plants from each other. As you can see the lily took up most of the space in the bag.
IMG_5264.jpg
Before touching the tree any further I prepped my growing container and soil. I used the same soil mix that I always use for potting bonsai trees. I use a mixture that I have find works well for me and it is made out of elements that I can find easily in my region.

My soil is made out of:

  1. Six parts soil
  2. Three parts stone 3mm - 5mm
  3. 1 parts river sand
  4. 0,1 parts bonemeal
  5. 5 ml of multicore slow release fertilizer

Here is a post I wrote a while back on repotting a bonsai:
bonsaiwithromano.wordpress.com/2017/06/28/how-to-repot-a-bonsai-tree/

IMG_5266.jpg

This is the roots that I saw. In the middle of the root cluster you can see little pieces of white roots that belong to the Lily. At this point I removed the lily from the tree. I had to dig deep into the root mass to remove all the lily's roots. I know from past ventures that lily's and some other plants sprout from roots if they are not removed properly. I used a one prong rake to comb through the roots and get the roots untangled.

IMG_5268.jpg

In the photo above you will see the masses of feeder roots on this tree. This is how a health root system should look . There are lots of feeder roots and not to much long thick roots as they only take up space in the pot or growing container. In the cultivation of bonsai these long thick roots are not needed. In nature trees use these long roots to keep the tree stable and anchored against the harsh elements (wind, rain, floods and landslides). In bonsai containers the trees are wired into the pots. This keeps the trees from falling out of the pots. The space in bonsai pots are limited and therefor we need to only keep the roots that the tree needs to survive. The more feeder roots a tree has the healthier the tree will be and the more growth you will get. This will lead to the development of the tree being much faster.

IMG_5271.jpg

In the close up above you can see the difference between the two root systems. The thick white roots are the roots of the Lily. As you can see there were in-bedded with the other roots so digging them up was fun.

IMG_5272.jpg IMG_5273.jpg
In the photo above you can see the tree replanted in its new growing container. You can see the tree is nice and wide at the base of the stem where it flares out into the roots. The tree will never be a great tree but I like a challenge. I will keep on training the tree and see if I can't get it to bud back lower down. It will take time to get the tree fully developed.

That's it for this blog. Thank you for reading. If you have any questions or comments please leave them below.

PS. I will be trying a thread graft tonight so, stay tuned for more details on that. Here are a few picture of someone garden that I have been watering the past week.

IMG_5255.jpgIMG_5240.jpgIMG_5238.jpg

#teambonsai
#bonsaicommunity

Bwr GIF-downsized.gifDQmU22agjpDK7AFdH4CAmVtbaUf3v1jvCFz6FSRdXbvxFZx.gif

Sort:  

Awsome pictures and article about this process :) Especailly the root-picture and the final pictures are looking impressive.

Thank you for sharing !

Thank you for the comment.

looks like a good start on the nebari and trunk. why do you say it will never be a great tree? Do they not backbud easily or there another flaw?

It can be a good tree. It just feels too long for the amount of foliage. The leaves are only on the top half of the tree. So umbrella type of style cones to mind but then again the branches do not bend easily. So i will have to play around with a few different styles and leave a few back doors open should one style fail.

For now I will leave the tree to recover and after it has started to grow strongly I will look at styling the tree.

Thank you for the input. Good to see that there is someone out there keeping me on my toes. 🤣👍🏻

It can be a good tree. It just feels too long for the amount of foliage. The leaves are only on the top half of the tree. So umbrella type of style cones to mind but then again the branches do not bend easily. So i will have to play around with a few different styles and leave a few back doors open should one style fail.

For now I will leave the tree to recover and after it has started to grow strongly I will look at styling the tree.

Thank you for the input. Good to see that there is someone out there keeping me on my toes. 🤣👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38