Can you spot the tree between the Calla Lily's ?

in #bonsai6 years ago

IMG_5205.jpg

Today I thought I would just give you a quick update on what I am currently busy with and what lies ahead for the weekend.

First of all could you see the Podocarpus latifolius (Geelhout) growing in the lily? I dug this tree up about three years ago from my grandmothers garden and can finally replant it into another container. As you can see in the feature image I am happy that the day has arrived could not have come any sooner. This tree has been slowly but surely been strangled by the lily. I could have removed the lily earlier but by the time I noticed the lily the roots where entangled with the roots of the tree. I did not at that stage feel that the tree was in a good enough condition for me to remove the lily. It's been a few years now and I feel fairly confident that the tree has set a strong root structure so, removing the lily should not influence the tree's health to much. I have set out a pot for the tree to be planted in so I will do this later tonight. Just waiting for the temperature to cool down a bite. Spring has arrived with a bang and the days are averaging in the mid twenties now. That's degrees measured in Celsius.

O' before I forget here are the picture of the Heritage exhibition that I promised.
IMG_5127.jpg IMG_5130.jpg

The trees in the next photo are all mine.
IMG_5135.jpg

And here is a tree that we styled during the exhibition.IMG_5125.jpg

There is no photo of the tree after it was styled as we never finished the styling. We where so busy helping with demo's and giving advise on trees that we forgot about the tree.

Here are a few photos of my trees in their spring foliage dresses.
IMG_5212.jpgIMG_5225.jpg

The next tree you should have seen in one of my previous blogs when I did winter pruning on it. As you will see the tree is covered in foliage now and doing well. I will be trimming back the new growth later tonight.
IMG_5215.jpg

Here is the link to the blog:
https://steemit.com/bonsai/@romanolsamuels/celtisafricana-winter-pruning-explained

This is how the tree look 2 months ago after the winter pruning:
IMG_4406.jpg

This is how the tree looked this morning after I prepped it for the trimming:
IMG_5232.jpgIMG_5229.jpg

As you can see the tree recovered from the pruning done during winter. There are many debates about timing this just right but the consensus is that it helps with ramification and health of the tree. Just to show you what I mean here is a photo of the tree in May this year (2018) after I bought it:
IMG_3556.jpg

If you ask me the tree looks much healthier now than it did when I received it. I do not know in what environment the tree grew in at its previous home. To be fair I will take a photo of the tree again in May next year (2019) just to capture the tree during the same season that I took the first photo just so that we can compare the two images.

Here are a few bonus photos of my trees that I took this morning.
IMG_5219.jpg
IMG_5221.jpgIMG_5222.jpg

All the trees in my collection are growing well and look health. They have been fertilized twice in this growing season. Some of the trees where late in getting their new leaves but all of them are now on track.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. If you have any comments please feel free to leave them in the comment section below.

#teambonsai
#bonsaicommunity

Bwr GIF-downsized.gif
DQmU22agjpDK7AFdH4CAmVtbaUf3v1jvCFz6FSRdXbvxFZx.gif

Sort:  

The visible bottom roots are looking better on the tree already.

Yes that's true. Can't wait to see the development over the next few years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39