Black Monkey Thorn #videoupdate

in #bonsai6 years ago

IMG_3801.jpgI mentioned that I will be removing the wire from this tree yesterday in my blog.
But fist here are a few pic's:
IMG_3762.jpgIMG_3766.jpg
Read more on the tree here:
https://steemit.com/bonsai/@romanolsamuels/bonsai-update-black-monkey-thorn-show-prep

It was a shorter process than I initially thought. In the video you will see me getting pricked every now and then. The removal of the wiring was no more than forty five minutes. I could not unwind some of the wire from younger branches so I cut them of that speed up the process.

Tonight I will be working on a Ficus that is designed in the root over rock style. I will be removing parts of the container holding up the soil mixture around the root thus revealing more of the roots.

IMG_0016.jpg

This was the tree earlier this year. I has grown and has a bigger canopy now.

Hope you enjoy the video. Please feel free to leave you comments below.

#teambonsai
#bonsaicommunity

Bwr GIF-downsized.gif
DQmU22agjpDK7AFdH4CAmVtbaUf3v1jvCFz6FSRdXbvxFZx.gif

Sort:  

Your blog came highly recommended and it doesn't disappoint. Great photos and insights. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @imagendevoz. Congratulations and best wishes.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-13T14:07:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 290.85/200.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Monkey thorn trees and their thorns - I love these trees but despise working on them despite my undying love for them. I have a bad habit of trimming the thorns when I want to work on the trees and I always end up removing the foliage each year just to have the leaves grow back in smaller scale so as to fit the tree but, I have to add that this is one of the best looking monkey thorn trees I have seen in a while, especially the bark on this tree. Quite amazing. I'm guessing it has to be around 12 years old? They can be quite deceiving during winter periods when it seems as though the tree has died or is in the process of dying. They tend to go into a very deep dormancy at times. Not sure if I am the only one with that experience or not but they remain remarkable trees which can survive with very little basic care. Speaking of ficus, I was given a ficus benjamina today for free, apparently a cutting but wow I was so surprised at the trees/branch quality. It looks as though it was grown in an environment constantly experiencing gale force winds. The entire trees branches have grown to the side with one dead (soon to be jin) branch on the opposite side, just need to kill off the little sucker at the bottom. Thanks for sharing.

Cool. Thanks for the feedback. They do tend to sleep in winter and push out new growth long after others have started to grow. Ficus tree do not look good if Jined in my opinion. You rearly see if on them and they grow over their dead branches in nature. Ficus benjamina is a difficult one do not trim back to far as they die back alot after pruning I normally leave more than needed on the branch.

A benjamina that I have been busy with for a few years now.
IMG_0769.jpg

@imagendevoz featured your blog post as their Entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest that is what brought me to your post

As you know @imagendevoz featured you in Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

Beautiful work. I can't imagine how much patience it takes to work on bonsai. The end result is definitely worth it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56512.08
ETH 2344.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33