Sort:  

Sounds like a good idea. There is a person on steemit growing apple seeds for bonsai. Apple branches do not root very well. If you find a sucker growing from a root, you can cut off the root, and turn it into a new tree.

Hmmm, thanks! I don't have suckers for the apple tree but I have lots of them for my lilac tree so I might try it with that one. Maybe try to root the apple branch too? Nothing ventured nothing gained:) It's a straggly apple tree that I don't really want in my garden (right in the middle of my border) but I feel badly about chopping it down so I thought saving a piece of it for bonsai would be a nice compromise! (For me if not for the tree:)

Fruit trees usually don't root well from the branches. There is a method for burying the branch underground (if it reaches) without cutting it off. If the living branch eventually forms roots, then you can remove it and make a new tree. I would try saving the roots on a tree I was planning to chop down, and grow a bonsai from that. You can do whatever you want though. Live and learn. Maybe you'll be lucky with your method.

Thank you for your advice, I appreciate it:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31