You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pruning Douglas Fir: Bonsai Hands-On Walkthrough [Bonsai]

in #bonsai5 years ago

Interesting post.
I am now attending gardener courses.
Just on January 8, we had a topic on how to prune fruit trees and roses.
Excuse me, but suddenly it will come in handy:

  1. cut off at a height of one and a half to two centimeters from the branch that you leave on the plant.
  2. The cut should be at an angle of 45 degrees and the slope should go in the opposite direction from the branch.
    I don’t know if we have a theme about bonsai.
    Our next lesson will be about Aloe.
Sort:  

Yes, these are great instructions you shared.

When you have a thicker branch, like roses and fruit wood, the angle and location of the cut really matters to stimulate the growth bud correctly.

The behavior of the water sprouts that form on fruit wood are a whole area of study, which dictates how much wood, where, how, and when a fruit tree can be cut.

With pruning, every species can have different rules. Anything with the same growth patterns, or type of vegetative or woody growth will often follow similar pruning guidelines.

In bonsai, they insist on using far different pruners than you would use for roses, fruit trees, or hedges, and will usually cut much closer to the collar. When trimming for permanent wood design features in bonsai, it is a different goal than boosting fruit, blooms, or foliage. Yes, it get's confusing for me too. I'm still learning.

Thank you very much for the information.
I want to ask you:
Have you ever grown Adenium from seeds?

No I have not. I live in the wrong climate for these to grow.

If you can find someone one steem who lives in South Africa and enjoys gardening, I bet they can give you some insight.

Thanks for the answer!
I sowed. I have almost all the seeds sprouted.
And when they had a height of growth of 3 to 5 centimeters, they began to die.
At the moment I have only 2 normal of 18 sprouted Adeniums left:
one 7 cm., the second - 8 cm.,
and the third 9 cm. - half-dead, but holds on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43