You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing a Maple Tree for Spring [Bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago

Hi @creativetruth, good publication, I love the maples but the climate of my city is a little hot and they die, tell me about the substrate, I see that you use a thick material and then you put something on it that makes the effect of mulch, but what material is it?

Sort:  

Most people here either bury their trees, put them in a greenhouse, or layer with inches of thick mulch, such as bark dust, and put against a building to protect. I use coconut/coir fiber. I like it because it is clean and easy to sculpt around the pots like clay when moistened. In winter we don't want to water the dormant trees as much, and we have to protect the roots from the heavy rain and ice build-up. The mulch wicks up water from both the inside and outside, so the tree won't ever sit in a water puddle, or dry out if the mulch stays damp. Does that make sense? We get heavy rain and freezing winters.

Hey, perfect! And this mulch technique in spring and summer?

Definitely not. I clear off all the mulch in Spring to expose the bonsai soil to the sun. Because of our climate, often times the trees will naturally develop a moss on the soil after the Spring, which can be a good thing. It acts a bit like a thin mulch to protect the soil from drying out completely. I still have to water daily when Summer gets hot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44