Some minor enhancements to a Forsythia tree [Bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago (edited)

20180328_114200.jpg

This week, I'm going to show some clean up work and wiring I did on one of my two Forsythia trees. I grow them very small so they can be appreciated as an ornamental bonsai.

20180328_114226.jpg

As you can see, Mr. Squirrel has already done some of the clean up work for me. It raked off the top layer of mulch, and now the surface roots are exposed. The soil is now closer to the level of the rim of the pot, and this will help water to percolate through better.

20180311_175901.jpg

The photo above was from a few weeks ago.

I like this species particularly because of the bright yellow flowers it produces in the spring.

20180328_115604.jpg

The hardest part for me was actually attempting to identify which of my photos were shot before I did the clean up work, and which photos were from after.

I think this is the first photo that shows what the tree looked like after I pruned off some buds and branches.

20180328_115631.jpg

There was an upward shoot on the right branch angling up over the center of the tree that I removed.

Also removed some clusters of buds and shoots on the end of the front branch. It now has three end buds instead of five.

My branches are now all forking into nice Y-shaped divisions, with no X-shaped trident junctions.

20180328_121116.jpg

The branches were so flexible, I decided to go for it, and apply some wire to the trunk.

Here you can see how much I opened up the center of the tree. Each of the three main branches can now get full sunlight and plenty of airflow.

20180328_121205.jpg

Some gentle curves and changing levels are now visible. Over time the tree will grow firmer, and hold this style of shape on its own.

Looks like a little bit more wire can be used to curve the upper right branch to arch over a bit more.

Think that would get a good idea?

teambonai.gif

Small, but Growing!

#teambonsai


Bonus

Sometimes I enjoy the shadow of the trees more than the actual tree itself.

No color, yet full of shape, texture, and movement.

20180328_121220.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post. I am an amateur bonsai hobbyist, gardener, and artist, and I love trying out new things, making errors, and breaking a few traditional rules to learn how to do things in a way that works for me.

Please support my followers in the comments. Many of them post some surprisingly excellent photos and information about plants and trees that I think you will also enjoy.

Enjoy the beautiful weekend.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

a very beautiful bonsai plant @ creativetruth.i really love bonsai.semoga you always succeed.

great work! As this is a flowering tree I would suggest that you try a broom style as you will get more foliage that is closer together. So when the tree blooms it would look amazing.

The plants seem to be growing well, Keep it up :-)

Nice bonsai friends hopefully can grow fertile.

Looking at that bonus photo, it definitely shows what a good day at the bonsai office that was. The flowers look really amazing, one would think that as the plant isn't as big its flowers would be a lot smaller. It's a great choice to have a couple of those. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61