Emerald Queen, Saphire Sorceress, and a romantic gesture from Aphrodite.

in #bonsai7 years ago (edited)

Let me introduce you to my bonsai of the day.

This young sapling has been selected for its incredible health, vigor, and brilliant green color. It is a real stand out compared to my other trees, and almost seems to enjoy posing for the camera to me. A bit like a parade princess waving to its adoring fans in her glorious attire.

20170829_192711.jpg

ID: 0001
Nickname: Ozma
Type: Arborvitae
Age: 4 or 5 years
Grown: yamadori (I think I cut it from the root where it was growing as a sucker weed)
Last repotting: 2016

Past Styling: Minor trimming. Mainly just trimmed keep its size proportional. Removed some dead foliage last year. Removed some green foliage along the inner lower branches, and trimmed the ends of branches to discourage length and encourage it to spread out into thicker tufts. No wiring has been done.

Future Plans: Remove top third to encourage more growth into the lower branches to grow thicker. The lower branches already have a more interesting curve that appeals to me. Over the course of a few years, I would like to remove more and more of the central trunk, and eventually use one of the lower branches as the new leader. Next time I do some major pruning, it will be ready for a nicer bonsai pot. Side branches could easily be trained with wires this month to enhance the natural over and down wavy motion it tends to make.

Had not been fertilized in about two weeks when this photo was taken. Fed it some fish fertilizer this morning.

Today's honorable mentions go to these pretty ladies:

20170830_090751.jpg

Butterfly Bush in bloom

20170830_091203.jpg

Rose


Let me know in the comments below if you enjoy this kind of post. I plan to continue to share my hobby as an amateur bonsai grower by posting photo updates on trees and other plants I grow.

None of my pieces are show pieces, and I only do it because I love trees and enjoy learning by making mistakes. Patience with growing has a way of rewarding me.

Feel free to post suggestions and advice for me in the comments below.

If bonsai is something you want to learn more about, I'll do my best to answer questions too. Again, I am not an expert, and I can only speak to personal experience and what other hobbyists have shared with me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @creativetruth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81