Butterfly Bush: Taming a Wild Flowering Tree [Bonsai]

in #bonsai5 years ago

20190820_120515.jpg

Today I have many photos to share of my Butterfly Bush, which I grow in miniature bonsai tree form. This is one of many of my bonsai trees from my collection that I am sharing today. Check it out.

20190820_120523.jpg

Historical Information

ID: 0015
Nickname: Shasta
Type: Butterfly Bush
Age: 4 years
Grown: cutting
Last repotting: 2016?
Wired: Never

20190820_120505.jpg

The light on this day was a bit tricky, so I decided to photograph this tree in the shade of the hedge instead of in full light.

One of the weird tricks I recently discovered about using a camera on a smartphone is that you can use your free hand to shade the camera lens from the sun, and this helps block some of the light retractions that can sometimes fog up view. Hold your hand over the camera like a visor, and the darker colors will be more visible.

20190820_120458.jpg

The bark on the butterfly bush forms these long zebra stripes. This makes it unique from most other trees. The leaves are long and pale, and usually form in pairs on symmetric sides of a stem.

20190820_120433.jpg

Here I photographed the tree in normal light. I thought it was hard to see the bark with the sunlight so strong.

20190820_120405.jpg

Butterfly Bush can take a lot of pruning. In these photos I had recently pruned off all of the fading flower stems. New shoots are starting to form.

20190820_120344.jpg

With all of these open spaces between the leaves for sunlight to reach, this tree will be all too happy to form backbuds everywhere. Small trees like to have open spaces between branches.

Open spaces also allow wind to pass through the tree better. It's less stress on the tree if the wind can pass through freely. Mildew, moss, and rot can form between any branches that are too tightly squeezed together.

20190802_093954.jpg

Here are some photos of what it looked like this summer when it was in full bloom.

20190802_093911.jpg

From May through the end of July, I avoid pruning this tree. I allow it to grow shoots as tall as it wants, in order to develop strong flower buds.

20190802_093928.jpg

Bees and butterflies both love this tree. It provides a source of pollen and nectar for a few weeks.

20190910_111537.jpg

Lastly, here is a more recent photo, showing an additional pruning I applied. Now that many new buds have formed on the lowest branches, I have pruned off all of the tall extending stems. The result is smaller leaves, and more ramified small branches.

20190820_123133.jpg

Be sure to follow my work this week. I'm in the process of sharing the whole host of bonsai trees in my collection. There is over thirty trees I am growing. That means you can enjoy more than a month of fresh content from @creativetruth's back porch.

Share the goodness with me.

20190820_123112.jpg


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

Find me on discord and chat with other tree growers, bonsai enthusiasts, and gardeners. We have quite a few accredited experts filling out our ranks, and a helpful Spanish-speaking community.

#teambonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing about it in details

Hello @creativetruth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Oh wow, the most exciting thing I've seen in a long time: a mini flowering butterfly bush! (Had a seedling once pop up somwhere in my unkempt lawn and potted it up for a while, till an early frost helped it return itself into the cycle of unmanifest life). Does Shasta attract even less material butterflies (semi-etheric creatures as they already are)? Does she scintillate with dazzles and flutters but nobody can really see why?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75