Bonsai World - Avocado Bonsai Update!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bonsai6 years ago

Spring is coming and my avocado bonsai can feel it!

If you didn't see my previous post about my avocado bonsai, I grew an avocado bonsai from seed. The last 2 weeks have been great for it, new leafs are coming out from a brand-new branch which look very healthy.

IMG_1747.JPG

This weekend I will rework its pot so it has fresh soil and fertilizer. And I also want it to look good because last winter did not treat it well and I thought I had lost it. Fortunately, patience is key and it's thriving once again.

This was a quick update and I hope you liked it, thank you for reading.

Social media:
Instagram - @bonsaiaustin

Sort:  

I never thought of creating an avocado bonsai - that would be such a cool thing to do.

PS. I just plucked an 🥑 from my tree and have prepped the seed. Thank you for the idea.
DSC_0074.JPG

I also think 🤔 it's upside down so I'm prepping another.

That's awesome but yeah, it looks upside down. The bottom of the seed has to be under water because the root comes out from there. Just be patient because it takes a couple of weeks before it germinates.

Yeah, I totally just flipped it. Never have I ever thought of trying an avocado bonsai. It's new ground so I'm pretty much guessing my way through to success. Everything I do is based off trial and error. Luckily, I know a bit about how avocado trees grow in the wild.

Avocado trees work great as bonsai the only floor to it is you have to prune a lot and it dies back a bit when pruned to do not prune to close to next bud. New growth always tends to go straight up. I have two.

Thanks for the advice. I've raised dozens of bonsai but never an avocado bonsai - this is new ground for me so any advice would be appreciated.

Have you written a post about regular avocado trees? I would read that to give me more insight on avocado tree growing.

Haven't written a thing. I've been going through the books I've got and it seems pretty simple, just need to condense that to a bonsai. But hey, I've got time while the seed does its thing. Thanks again for the idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71