Bonsai World - Avocado!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bonsai6 years ago

As promised, here's my post about avocado bonsai:D

Just like my key lime seeds, I got my avocado seed when eating some tacos. My current process of germinating an avocado seed is simple and has been known for a long time, I'm just passing the information along. I apologize beforehand for not having pictures of every step.

Step 1 - Clean the avocado seed and submerge it under room temperature water, leave it there overnight. This is optional but makes peeling much easier.

Step 2 - Peel it. Avocado seeds have a brownish shell and once peeled it looks yellowish.
Step 3 - Stick 2 or 3 toothpicks in the seed. Be sure not to hit the scar that loops around the seed because this is where it will begin to crack and open.
Step 4 - Submerge seed 50-75% under water in a cup. Toothpicks help seed stay in place and let room for the root to grow downward.


Step 3 & 4

Change and/or add water when needed. And that's it, if it's a good seed it should crack in half in a couple of weeks and begin to grow its root as you can see above.

If you want to make it a bonsai, 3 inches of root length should be enough to pot it. However, if you want to grow a normal sized avocado tree then you might wait until the root system is larger than 5 inches.

Here's my first avocado bonsai I was able to grow. As mentioned in a previous post, its name is "Cate". Currently the leaves fell of during winter and I hope it continues to grow when spring arrives.

Social media:
Instagram - @bonsaiaustin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12