Bonsai World - Apple Bonsai from seed progress!

in #bonsai6 years ago

As I said in my previous post about Lemon seed germination, here's the progress for my apple bonsai from seed.

The same as my lemon bonsai, I got the seeds from an apple I was eating. It was a Gala apple, but apple seeds will not necessarily grow to be the same as the apple they came from. This is due to grafting and/or gene manipulation. I'm not a botanical expert so I won't know what kind of apple tree it is until it grows. Patience is my only strategy, and I'm ok with it.

IMG_1468.JPG

In the picture above you can see it sprouting, being about 1-2 weeks after germination. I used some moss to maintain moisture in but it turned yellow/brown-ish during December and I couldn't bring it back to life. I replaced it with some white river stones showing better contrast.

IMG_1673.JPGIMG_1675.jpg

I really like the character this bonsai is taking by itself, I haven't wired it and at this point I'm not planning to. By character I mean its shape, that's how other bonsai enthusiasts call it. They also use this term for other characteristics a bonsai develops, such as the woodiness of the tree itself or texture of the bark to name a few.

As spring begins some pruning will be made to it allowing it to grow faster and thicken its trunk.

I hope you liked this post and shared it to spread the word about Bonsai.

Social media:
Instagram - @bonsaiaustin

Sort:  

It never occurred to me to use a fruit tree as a bonsai. I'm looking forward to seeing how it grows - it does have a beautiful start all by itself!

I made a new post about avocado bonsai; avocados are technically fruits lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61399.80
ETH 2987.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42