Bonsai World!

in #bonsai7 years ago

Hello everybody!

This is my first post talking about something I've been really passionate for the last couple of months, the art of Bonsai. I have not seen posts about bonsai here in Steemit and I thought it would be a great idea to start it out myself. I hope with time more people join in and contribute with their own bonsai content :)

Bonsai comes from Asia, specifically having roots in China then adopted by the Japanese culture. Bonsai does not refer to particular tree species but to the practice of growing, dwarfing and shaping them in ways that resemble trees growing in nature.

I'm not an expert in bonsai, just a noob with a passion for trees.

I've been practicing this art since April 2017 starting out with a nursery juniper, I named it "Juni" (I know it's not original at all but I liked it). You can see a picture of Juni below. Now I germinated some avocado, lemon, and apple seeds and planted them to grow them as bonsai. I will show you pictures of them in future posts, or you can stop by my Instagram and check them out yourselves.

IMG_1480.JPG

I would really appreciate your upvote to reach out more people interested in bonsai and your feedback to improve the quality of the content I share with all of you. Thank You!

Social media:
Instagram - @bonsaiaustin

Sort:  

I randomly searched 'Bonsai' now due to a newly discovered interest. Pity I wasn't on SteemIt when you published this. Cool info.

No pity, it's always great when more people becomes interested in bonsai:)

I actually ordered seeds for a Chinese Juniper, Liquidambar styraciflua, Ulmus Parvifolia, Chinese Redbud, Juniper communis, Delonix Regia and Chinese Dogwood yesterday. Looking forward to germinating them. Just not sure I can wait as long as nearly 220 days for the Chinese dogwood to complete the basic germination process.

Oh yes, the waiting game for germination. That's why for some of my bonsai I just buy it small from a nursery. For seeds that I want to germinate I usually go for fruit seeds and such, they are easier and fast to grow. Although, I just got some Japanese Sakura seeds and I hope I'm able to germinate them. Just be patient and get a couple of plants from a nursery, otherwise you might get impatient lol

I do have a few from the nursery just thought I'd actually like to grow them from scratch for once - shaping them the way I like etc. The guy at our nursery doesn't seem to care for them properly as some have become riddled with disease. The only other nursery I know is quite a distance off. Besides, this is way more fun and provides a proper learning experience.

That's true, it's way more fun and tremendously more satisfying to see them grow from seed. I just prepared my cherry blossom seeds and hope they germinate.

Welcome to Steemit. I like bonsai but don't know anything about it so I look forward to your posts.

Thank you @datascience! I just created a new post about bonsai, check it out if you're interested!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64