BONE BROTH - An EASY recipe - 🔑 to HEALTH

in #bone6 years ago

20BF5DBE-22D3-4459-A9BF-56E71FB740DD.jpeg

So, the first time I read about bone broth in The Wahls Protocol, I was like WTF? 🤷‍♀️ That's weird... but then I see it again in The Paleo Approach, and then again in the autoimmune cook books I bought, and again in the autoimmune blogs...I couldn't ignore it, it seemed really important to give it a try! I am so glad I did. It was easy! I feel that it made a huge difference to improve my gut health, my hydration, and my overall well-being. I make it at home on a regular basis now and drink a few mugs per week or make a soup / stew.

The recipe I use is from The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook by Mickey Trescott.

👉4 quarts filtered water
👉2 or more pounds well sourced bones
👉2 TBSP apple cider vinegar
👉1 bay leaf (I add 2-3 when I make it)

I make mine with the slow cook function on my Instant Pot, however I used to make it on the stovetop in a large pot.

👉All ingredients in large stockpot or crock-pot and bring to boil. Then lower heat to simmer.
👉Occasionally skim the "scum" from the surface.
👉Simmer for 8-24 hours.

When you are done cooking, let it cool and then strain into your storage container (I use a OXO 3 inch mini strainer into a 32 oz. wide mouth Ball jar). Keeps in the refrigerator for 7 days or you can also freeze it. Be careful if freezing to leave the jar only 2/3 full or it will expand and break, trust me...lol 😆)

I love this recipe because the author intentionally made it plain so that the consumer has the choice regarding salt and seasonings. I usually add Himalayan pink salt and sage as my seasonings of choice! I also love that bone broth helps to promote using the entirety of an animal. I understand the ethical dilemmas in eating animal products, but I also believe them to be important for optimal health. Advocating for better use of an animal (less waste) and humane treatment is important!

Thanks for reading! - Kay Cruncheee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43