Could Bolt run a 5 minute mile?

in #bolt8 years ago

http://www.newyorker.com/news/sporting-scene/how-fast-would-usain-bolt-run-the-mile

There is quite a debate going on about how fast Usain Bolt could run a mile. We know he is the fastest man in the world, but how long would he be able to keep up his speed?

I personally think that he couldn't break 5 minutes without some middle distance training, he would run nearer 6 minutes today. A 5 minute mile is seen as easy by young high school athletes, but many a long distance runner can't manage it, and I think a sprinter would fade very badly in the last 400m.

What do you think?

Sort:  

I believe I just read he's never run a mile ever!

I read that, it must mean he has never raced a mile before, he must have covered a mile in training before though!

Ah, it would be interesting but running a mile is its own beast. He's amazing there's no doubt about it but it's hard for him to keep that pace throughout and through turns. I'd love to see him try I'd definitely be curious but it would have to be after his sprinting career is over. It's a different kind of training.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.6 and reading ease of 91%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50