review AML-S905X-CC (Le Potato)

in #boinc7 years ago (edited)

Today I would like to present you another Single Board Computer called Le Potato from Libre Computer.

AML-S905X-CC package front

I funded the project through Kickstarter with 35€ and 14€ shipping cost to Germany.

AML-S905X-CC package back

The board is based on the Amlogic S905X SoC with 4 ARM Cortex-A53 cores and an ARM Mali-450 grafic chip. It supports up to 2GB DDR3 SDRAM and HDMI 2.0. You can use 4 USB 2.0 Type A and 100 MB Fast Ethernet. Among the HDMI port there is the possibility to transmit sound through the 3.5mm TRRS AV Jack. Le Potato is powered through a mirco USB port. The OS can boot from an SD Card or eMMC. Both data carrier possiblities have to be bought additionally. For more information about additional connection options I recommend to visit their website.

The following images should give some impressions of the board.

tranport box of Libre Computer

Le Potato insight an antistatic bag

Le Potato unpacked with pin protection

Le Potato USB and Ethernet ports

Le Potato micro USB, HDMI and 3.5 mm AV ports

Le Potato back sight view

Le Potato front sight view

Le Potato detailled view of the SOC and RAM

Le Potato detailled view of the RAM and eMMC interface

At https://www.armbian.com/lepotato/ you can find diffrent Images for the board.

Armbian Le Potato website

I used the armbian image with a GUI (Ubuntu_xenial_next_desktop.7z) .

Le Potato Images

After downloading I put the Images on my 8 GB micro SD card through the tool Etcher.

Image writing with Etcher

The first boot went well. It Needs some more time the first time and I got some curios green stripes on my Monitor before the login screen was shown.

first boot

Here you can see the desktop after the first boot.

Le Potato Desktop with ubuntu

After that I installed BOINC. The benchmark result is shown in the following picture.

Le Potato BOINC benchmark result

More couldn't be tested until now, because of a lack of time.

Sort:  

Maybe anybody know how to run WUProp@Home on this Computer? I didn't get it running.

I would assume you will not be able to get it to run. I have a silver mac g5 tower , I compiled my boinc from source and had to make it a ps3 via an easy switch ./configure --with-boinc-platform=powerpc64-ps3-linux-gnu and I will assume you need to do something similar. Pre doing so I could not run anything as projects do not support the motorola 970fx and debian/ubuntu unless I identified it as a ps3 and then I was/am able to run yoyo@home and yes wuprop so since it is almost 2am and I am to tired I will look into your cpu but I would think that you need to make it so boinc will identify as an arm7 vs arm cortex if that is what it is doing , some projects strait just support raw arm6/arm7 some have specific flags and just needs to be specified and a custom compile. If you connect to it remote or from a local log what does it identify the CPU as such as " 11/2/2017 11:15:26 PM | | Processor: 4 ARM ARMv7 Processor rev 3 (v7l) @1300MHz " or " 11/2/2017 11:17:19 PM | | Processor: 2 ARM ARMv7 Processor rev 2 (v7l) @1512MHz " being 2 of my tablets for examples.
Hay , just an idea I could be far off as I have no idea what Boinc will ID your CPU as but this is one direction to look. :) Good luck and pretty PCB..!!!

you can get a nexbox a95x, do the same thing, cheaper, and more cute.

Would love to read something about the RAC you achieve with this board :)

When I run it 24h/7d, I will give you an update

Congratulations @sodom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

the white looks very sexy . i looking to buy one in europe , some links / addresses ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71