CPU power consumption differences between BOINC projects

in #boinc7 years ago (edited)

Two weeks ago, when I changed my BOINC project from Universe@home to Rosetta@home, I noticed that my laptop was getting much warmer where the heatsink is located.

I understand that BOINC projects are built in different ways using a variety of programming languages with their individual optimisations. The memory footprint and utilisation varies and some require more HDD access than others. So, although a system may report 100% CPU utilisation, it doesn’t mean the CPU consumes the same amount of power or generates the same amount of heat for each project.

To better understand this, I decided to test the effects of CPU heat generation and power consumption on my laptop for each of the whitelisted Gridcoin BOINC projects.

The conditions:

Hardware/external:-

  • Laptop with i5-6200U and 8GB memory
  • Fanspeed fixed at 3000RPM
  • Room temperature 23 degrees Celsius

Software:-

  • Windows 10 (x64)
  • BOINC 7.6.33 (x64)
  • Stopped all other programs that consume CPU cycles (virus scanner, internet browser etc)
  • Use Core Temp 1.10.2 to measure the CPU temperature and power consumption

Test setup:

  • Select only projects with CPU tasks (so no GPU or Vbox/WM tasks)
  • Run one project at a time on 4 threads
  • Ensure CPU load at 100%
  • Run tasks for at least 5 minutes before measuring the temperature and power consumption

And here are the results:

I was expecting to see some differences but it struck me how big the differences really are. Below a number of observations:

  • There is a direct linear correlation between power consumption and CPU core temperature (not surprising)
  • The difference between the top and bottom application is 14 degrees Celsius (20% difference). Of course, when I increase the fan-speed the temperature delta will be less but there will also be more noise (not ideal in my case).
  • The difference in CPU power consumption between the highest and lowest consuming project is 4.2W (40% difference).

After running these tests, I finally understand why my laptop got much warmer while switching from Universe@home to Rosetta@home. The CPU started to consume 2.2W more which resulted in temperature increase of 7 degrees Celsius.

I have now installed the tool called TThrottle, which you can download for free at https://efmer.com/. It will automatically adjust the BOINC project(s) CPU utilisation not to exceed a maximum set CPU temperature. Of course my output has dropped a bit but my laptop doesn’t get too hot to handle anymore whilst I can still run my favourite projects.

I hope you found this article helpful and interesting. Keep on crunching your favourite project!

Sort:  

On my notebook (i5-5200U), projects running the "llr" application really draw the most of power. The projects which have "llr" are PrimeGrid and NumberFields. The poor ulv CPU hits it's TDP limit of 15 W and throttles down it's frequency.
Linux 64bit.

Interesting, thank you for the feedback. I may now consider performing the same tests under Linux x64 as well to check the differences.

LLR applications should be extremely hard on the CPU even on Windows (due to heavy AVX usage, more details here). PrimeGrid has many different subprojects, just putting 'PrimeGrid' on the list is perhaps too vague.

Good comment. I just checked the sub project, it was Cullen Prime Search LLR (CUL). I have fired-up GPUGrid again but don't get any new tasks yet. As soon as I receive them I'll check if I notice any differences.

Finally, I received some GPUGRID tasks (again Cullen Prime Search LLR). After running 4 tasks for 15 minutes I measured the temperature which was again 70 degrees Celsius. I can confirm that the AVX instruction-set is enabled so I’m not sure if there is an issue with my laptop. Maybe Lenovo has tweaked some drivers on the system to limited the AVX instruction-set and thus the temperature impact?

Interesting facts. Didn't know that. Despite I'm crunching what I like and this is World Community Grid =)

Congratulations @parejan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thx for the info I already noticed this in my raspberry pi s . But I somehow was too lazy to test it thoroughly ;) so thx alot @parejan! Keep crunching;)

this is awesome. thank you for all your time and dedication. this is truly something people act like they don't have time to do, and i applaud you. haha

Congratulations @parejan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82