What i'm crunching. Pt. 3: SETI

in #boinc7 years ago (edited)

tarantula-sah.jpg

What is SETI?

I'm sure you all know SETI, don't you? No? NO?! I'm shocked! ;)
SETI@home is one of the oldest Internet-based public volunteer computing projects employing the BOINC software platform, hosted by the Space Sciences Laboratory, at the University of California, Berkeley. Its purpose is to analyze radio signals, searching for signs of extraterrestrial intelligence, and as such is one of many activities undertaken as part of the worldwide SETI (Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligence) effort.

Why i'm crunching it?

Because SETI was the very first project i was crunching for, back in the last century when SETI was merely a Screensaver - and because SETI is somewhat like a 'Swiss Army Knife'; it runs on almost everything. Your Smartphone, your on-board GPU, your single-board computer, your age-old Office PC...

220px-Setiboinc.jpg

In my case SRBase (See Pt.1) is crunching on 7 of my 8 CPU cores, Amicable Numbers (See Pt. 2) is crunching on my NVidia 1060 and SETI is crunching on the on-board GPU... and an old Samsung S3 Mini... and on a ZTE Blade 3.

www_logo.gif

My SETI Rank

My Project Rank Total Credit: 86020 out of 1695722(yes - a lot people are searching for ET) ;)
My Project Rank Recent Average Credit: 44904 out of 1695722

Until today i've contributed 699,111 Cobblestones of computation (604.03 quadrillion floating-point operations).

Card_GRC_small.jpg

Gridcoin and SETI

I'm earning some money crunching for SETI with Team Gridcoin!
Team Rank by Total Credit: 569 out of 3608
Team Rank by Recent Average Credit: 466 out of 3608

Sort:  

I started using the SETI screensaver in those 'way back olden times' when I first discovered BOINC and since then I've watched SETI go from strength to strength.

SETI caught my attention and now I participate in an array of projects from mapping the Milkyway to searching for cures for Alzheimer's Disease, Parkinson's Disease, Malaria, Zika and Aids.

This is my humanitarian contribution to science as a BOINC volunteer assisted by Team Gridcoin and it' s community.

boinc

It seems that we both are "volunteer computing gramps". :D

+1 for SETI; I would never stop contributing to the project that boosted the BOINC platform... and eventually lead to our beloved gridcoin :-)

The Nerd World wouldn't be the same without SETI. ;)

I see. So you're putting the least computing power toward the project you believe in most because you don't make any money off of it. Congratulations dude. You deserve a pat on the back.

No, i don't belive most in SETI, it was only the very first project and that's why i'm still crunching it... to quote myself:

Why i'm crunching it?
Because SETI was the very first project i was crunching for

It was the first one and always will be. Some would call it loyalty. I would earn more if i would contribute everything to other projects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72