BOINCOS v1.1 Alpha ReleasesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #boinc7 years ago

Introduction


I'll be posting these updates as I continue to develop BOINCOS but before I start, I'd like to thank all those who donated via steemit and GRC (I think I saw a little tip in my wallet).

In this update, the OS is slowly reaching a state where it is usable yet a security audit must still be undertaken before it is released as a beta test. In addition to this, I am working with my friend who will aid the development of a website and the BOINC-Helper software that we will see in the near future.

Changelog


Network Manager:

Networking now doesn't have to be done through the terminal and is now done via a GUI. The only caveat to this is that there needs to be further GUI improvements such as adding some sort of icon to the tray that displays network status in order to make the experience more user friendly.

Display Manager:

The OS now launches straight into a graphical environment without user intervention and I've added one of the backgrounds I've made to test how the system will feel. (See the second picture below)

Backgrounds:

Some new graphics were added to the repository. I added them as just some simple testing backgrounds and for the record I'm not an expert graphical designer so I wouldn't expect these to be professional designs.

Pictures


Screenshot of the desktop environment with some applications open (new network manager in the top right)

Picture of my laptop running the login greeter

Latest Release


  • Find the latest releases to BOINCOS here.

  • Find the documentation here.

Notes


  • A small bug was found after uploading the BOINCOS image, please refer to the documentation if any problems were encountered
  • This is still in alpha so it is not recommended to use this version as the real thing. Then again, testing is accepted and I appreciate any reporting of problems or even assistance in solving some issues

Thankyou for reading!

Sort:  

Good work. I subscribed both to you and the github repo. Setting up torrentz is very easy and I can help you with that. Count me in for testing.

I do have a torrent seeding server myself however my bandwidth is low, I'll be considering torrents when I release the first beta version which shouldn't be too soon and I would be grateful if someone with greater bandwidth can start seeding first.

Also yes, I greatly appreciate anyone that helps test as I'm worried that this system is not as robust when it comes to other computers. Make sure you report any problems in the appropriate issue here.

Thanks!

Thanks for your work @delta1512 Followed...

Most importantly thank you, I wouldn't be making this without the support of an amazing community.

Great post and very informative. @delta1512 Have learnt a lot from it.

Thanks! If you need any explanations I'd be happy to clarify.

Congratulations @delta1512! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50