Learn to Love Yourself

in #body6 years ago

One question we need to ask ourselves is “What is Body Image?”Body image is how one looks at their physical self and their thoughts and feelings is a result of that perception.
There are four aspects of body image..
They are:
1.Perecpetual Body Image- This is more of how we see our body

  1. Affective Body Image- The way we feel about our body
    3.Cognitive Body Image- The way we think about our body
  2. Behavioural Body Image- The way we behave as a result of how we see our body
    The way we perceive our body is not always correct. I believe that the media plays a large role in how we perceive our bodies. In today’s society too many advertisements are shown in the media whether its via television, internet, magazines about the latest diet fads, in which they want to feed in our minds that being plus size is not an “acceptable” and we all need to look a certain way.
    This in turn may make us have negative thoughts about our bodies. We often catch ourselves wondering and asking the question.. Does this look good on me? Does it make me look fat? How many of you have asked yourselves those questions time and time again?
    I know I have asked those questions numerous times and to be honest it sometimes does affect the way I think about myself in general. Since I was a young girl I have been curvier and all my life I have been hearing you have such a beautiful face but if you lost some weight you will look stunning.
    There were times where I have isolated myself from social events as I am too worried about what other people think due to these comments, and often I found myself hating the way I looked. It took me a very long time to love the body I have and to feel comfortable in my own skin.
    So, I am here today to tell you that we all need to accept, appreciate and accept our bodies as they are.”Everyone is beautiful no matter what size or shape they are”… We all need to learn to be happy in our own skin, and no matter how the media would like to portray things we need to stay true to ourselves.
    Until the next blog remember, we all have the power within ourselves to accept the way we feel, see and think about our bodies. So, let’s embrace our curves and learn to love ourselves for who we are.
    Lots of Love to you all
    Mez Maraki

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65540.15
ETH 3522.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48