Who the Diddley?

in #bodiddley6 years ago

image
This is the Bo Diddley Beat - you’ll recognise it in oodles of songs - from Buddy Holly’s Not Fade Away to Bowie’s Panic in Detroit *, through to George Michaels Faith and beyond.
But who was Bo Diddley?
image

I must admit that until last year I couldn’t have answered that question but then one evening I was cooking away in the kitchen listening to a Spotify playlist and this joyous, raucous noise suddenly filled the room and I was hooked.
This was my baptism of Bo - You can’t Judge a Book by Looking at it’s Cover
https://open.spotify.com/track/224IyGjIWQsNWrc36LOl3A

Bo was one of the pioneers of Rock n Roll and remains an incredibly influential (and much copied) artist. Many musicians and critics believe that he should be mentioned in the same breath as Chuck Berry, Elvis and Little Richard but he never seems to have got the credit and fame he deserved.

I think my favourite, favourite Bo Diddley song is Ooh Baby

https://open.spotify.com/track/77CGhPln8Gs3bgntQqzr0W

But I love too many of his songs to mention.

Reasons to love Bo Diddley

  • his loud suits, square glasses and guitar
  • His endearing habit of writing and singing about himself in the 3rd person as in:
    Hey Bo Diddley, Bo Diddley is a Lover etc
  • The fact that he had female guitarists in his group - almost unheard of at the time - You Go Bo!
  • His wonderful album titles and covers
    image
    - And most of all his amazing body of songs that make you feel so good and almost force you to start dancing.

But don’t take my word for it - dive in to Bo Diddley
https://open.spotify.com/album/10zuf7RQluaQGrbrXtU4nW

image

Are you a Bo Diddley fan? Is there a musician that you feel should be more celebrated?
Let me know, I would love to hear from you

*Panic in Detroit features one of my favourite lines-
Looked a lot like Check Guevara, Drove a diesel van

Sort:  

Thank you for the music suggestion, Lee! I can't believe this is the first time I've listened to Bo Diddley. Great vibes and soul. I really enjoy what you're writing. Followed!

Thankyou! I’m so pleased that you like Bo - it’s hard to believe that someone who has had so much influence on music and is so very listenable is so little known.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03