The SteemDream? or perhaps the SteemBoat?

in #boat7 years ago (edited)



.............................................................................................................................................................................
The Dream
I dunno...haven't decided on the name yet. Perhaps I'll have a contest?

WHAT WRECK?

present reality
.

side view
.

interior shot, probably from just inside the rear door
.

driver's chair
(I'm sure there's a nautical name for it..but HEY! I was a Trucker.)
.

Back end of the boat...I think it's called the stern. It doesn't look very stern...it looks depressed. I wonder if the wire panels come with it?
.
the weird shaped holes in the back end (I think it's called a transom) were for the drive units of an inboard motor. I don't know a thing about boats but I didn't know there were dual drive inboards...oh well. They're gone, engine(s) too.
.
And that's OK...in fact it saves me the time and trouble of ripping them out and throwing them away. I don't want no Steenkin Loud Engine. I've had enough of that. I'm going SOLAR...(just haven't figure out how...just yet. There are SO MANY options)
.

the most important part of the boat
.

AH! it has a coffee maker
.

from just inside the front door (beside the driver seat probably) looking toward the back door
.

on the top I think this is called a 'flying bridge'....(nautical people say the strangest things don' they?)
.

So there it is!

.
Right now it's setting beside a haystack on a ranch in an undisclosed location in the heart of Texas. It's been sitting there, under a tarp, for eight years. I'm sure I don't have the full story...but the take away is that the guy who owns it isn't going to be able to do what he wanted to do when he bought it. So he's selling it to me for VERY CHEAP. Hell the trailer alone is worth double or triple what I'm paying.
.

And here's another one just like it.

.
in much better shape.(mine's a 72)


.
Here's another version. I dunno how many different models they made. Information is difficult to fine. This is all pre-internet era. The company that made it is long gone..but hand laid fiberglass is eternal.
.

.
NOT the same boat...but similar


.

So there it is . My retirement project. It'll take a few years to 'get 'er done'. ..but why should I care? The rebuilding will be half the fun.

I told the guy that I would take it. I expect to pick it up by the end of the month. I've located a place to park it and work on it...not TWO MILES from where I sit right now. Cheap too.

So..that's the deal. My SteemDream. It will all be paid for by Steem.

If there is enough interest I'll post progress updates.

Wanna 'crowdfund' a steemdream? That upvote or the transfer buttons are just sitting there....or not.

Your up vote, or any additional contributions will be GREATLY appreciated, or just your good will and support.
I suspect that I'm looking at some serious frustration in my immediate future. I'll need some shoulders to cry on.

Seeyabye.

Sort:  

So is your goal to live on it? I believe if you chronical or blog the progress you can develop quite a following which would certainly contribute even if only through upvoting. I know I will be cheering you on. I have always dreamed of living on a sailboat.

Excellent Idea.
I'll do that. I'll blog my progress.

yup..I kinda sorta want to live on it.
or use it as a 'dog house' when the wife is annoyed at me.
or a 'man cave'

I live near lake travis in texas.
boat slips are available for sale or for rent.
the rent is less than an apartment, about 1/10 as much actually.

I'm thinking about it being a 'bug out' boat..maybe.
I'm also think that with the new solar cell and battery technology
that solar boats will have all of the advantages of sail
and
all of the advantages of power.
with very few of the disadvantages of either.

Making the dream happen with Steem Powah! :) That's awesome! My vote isn't worth much, but you got it!

thank you.
I will provide updates.

The Steemit Pit, cause all of your steem & time are going to be spent renovating that thing. Can't think of a much better way I'd like to spend my $STEEM though, 20 years from now. Have fun!

Oh you're definitely right about that...but if I have something to DO...I might still be around in 20yrs.

how about
USS MINNOW
or
DOLPHIN FOLLIES
or
WHALE SPOTTER

I'm making a list...that's going on it.
when it comes time to decide on a name
prior to the Whisky Christening.
they will be considered.
thank you.

I have a boat too named Blenheim Palace

a good subject to steem about.

SteemBoat sounds quite nice

I do want to fund your steem dream! Though i dont have much steempower, take my upvote!! Will resteem to my 97 followers :)

I certainly appreciate it.
Your emotional support is important to me also.

@everittdmickey Just to help you envision your new Steemboat. If you look carefully through the reflection in the window, you can be seen behind the captains wheel looking out.

I like that.
very well done.
thanks.

in FACT.
I like it so much that I'm adding it to the post.

no problem. After I did it, I was thinking I should have removed background and put the boat in water.

that would be nice.
I have no idea how you can do that.
great skill to have.

on further thought I really LIKE that Idea.
If you could do that I have some plans to use it.
thank you.

I tried it, but it didn't look right because there are no ripples in the water around the hull. looked photoshopped. I tried parking it next to a dock, but couldn't find a dock at the right angle to make it look realistic. :)

oh well...thanks..

I propose you name it the Everitt McSteemd

That's a thought.
Perhaps I'll make a list and keep track of preferences?

Can be awesome ... If you got passion and enough to invest?!
Hopefully STEEM will rally and help out regarding the later?!

Forget solar... that thing will sink as soon as it hits the water... My advice is paint it and buy lots of insurance! Then- Jewish lightning!

it's designed to be at home on land as well as in the water. The trailer is specially designed JUST for that boat. It's a travel trailer that floats. I can pull it behind my Z-71 to go camping.

(picture is from the internet...mine is an older version. MUCH older,but pretty much the same.)

Beautiful, but matching that truck and that boat is kind of like putting Robert Redford and Phyllis Diller together!


Heeeeeeer's Betsy
That's what my Bonus Son called her.
He got her in his Jr. year in highschool.
I paid to have the tranxmixer rebuilt, and the motor and the suspension.
He's a successful business man now. I think it kind of embarases him.
It suits me just fine.
Except it's an AutoMagic.
I wish it had a stick.
.

.

.

.

.
The pickup is 1992 the boat is 1972. I'm 1951. We all come from the last century.

I'm 1945... 4 days before they dropped "the Big One." Nice truck!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51