I Want A Boat - Part VIIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #boat8 years ago



I’ve decided on a Puddle Duck Racer


of the
Gorfnik
persuasion.

(see earlier posts)

Today Marks the Start of Experimentation.

I’ve been thinking about it long enough. Time to get off the pot. I went to the big box store nearby, HomeDepot and spent about twice as much money as I had intended. I bought

  • a board 1 - 1” x 6” x 8’ premium treated lumber.
  • a sheet of plywood 1 - 1/4 underlayment.
  • a sheet rigid EPS insulation foam 1 - 4’ x 8’ x 1”
  • a section of expanded metal stucco furring: 1 - 3’ x 8’.
  • a bag of FRC cement.
    a few hand tools and misc. Hardware.

I’ve been ‘butchering wood’ for the last couple of days. Actually I’ve been sitting, smoking, drinking coffee...and THOROUGHLY visualizing what I want to build THEN...making a tentative cut or two...then more smoke...more coffee.

S’ok. This is not a race. I’ve got nothing but time. As in...very damn little money so think twelve times, measure six times...mark..triple check..THEN cut. No budget for waste.

First on the agenda is a foam cutter. I happen to have a round, wrought iron, glass topped patio table with an umbrella hole in the middle. That’s my future work station.

This is what I have managed to accomplish so far.



I ripped, sawed, drilled, (folded, spindled and mutililated) the 1” x 6” x 8’ piece of lumber




into what you see

It took me a LONG time, most of which was spent thinking. So far so good, no mis-cuts, not waste....

Then I used some wood screws small ‘L’ brackets



and a ’90 degree’ framing nailer to connect the cross arm



So far I have many hours and about $20 (materials) invested in the project.

As can be seen...I don’t have much room
The patio is only about 7’ x 12’...so it’s cramped.
The first order of business is organizing things.
I can kill two birds with one stone. I’m going to test my foam cutter and the .....

wel...you’ll see.

I can augment it...I HAVE the technology.

I hope you enjoyed this
Yarn

.
If you did
Buy My Books
and wildly upvote my stuff to help fund the construction.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.


The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


Sort:  

well, good for fishing at least. ^^

yup..or a 'dinghy' for a larger vessel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50