I want a boat...Part IVsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #boat8 years ago

Puddle Duck Racer.

(the cheapest, easiest built boat on the planet)

It occurred to me that I should probably crawl before I began to run, regarding boats that is. So I have been doing extensive research. I’ve been looking for small, easy to build, inexpensive boats.

I’ve found it.

What is a Puddle Duck Racer

The PDRacer is a developmental one design racing sailboat that is basically a plywood box with a curved bottom and is the easiest boat in the world to build. The rules are aimed at keeping the lower 10" of all hulls the same but the rest is up to the builder. A simple hull can be made from 3 sheets of plywood, Titebond II glue and latex house paint. If you work hard for 2 weekends you can go sailing on the 3rd weekend. If you are really in a hurry it is possible to go from lumber to the lake in 5 days.Here are our free plywood sailboat plans

According to Wikipedia

A Puddle Duck Racer or PD Racer is an 8 foot (2.44 m) long, 4 foot (1.22 m) wide, 16 inch (40 cm) high, spec series, racing sailboat. It is a one design hull shape with wide options in other areas. Billed as "the easiest sailboat in the world to build", the scow hull is a simple box, usually built of plywood.

Sounds good...right?

There are problems. The first of which is materials. Ever since the Spotted Owl fiasco, in which the green weenies destroyed whole towns and economies in the northwest, the cost of wood has increased...the quality has decreased.

Plywood MIGHT have been the material of choice at one time. Not so much today. Perhaps I should turn to the Evil Oil Companies for help.

A guy on FaceBook by the handle of Rowerwet has taken foam board and made himself several boats of the stuff.

He says in his Instructable article

...can you cut a crusty bagel with a knife, stick a sandwich together with mayo, grate cheese, cut thin fabric with scissors, stretch wrinkles out of bed sheets, and roll paint onto a wall? Then you can build this boat!

Well yeah. I can do that.

And since the enviro-wackos (over the last two decades I’ve learned to hate those people) have made wood prohibitively expensive I’ll turn to Big Oil for help.

I particularly like his latest model...the SawFish


Looks good.

However...it solves one problem yet does not address another.

I want a camping boat. Like this.

So...I’m wondering if I can build a Gorfnik , but use the Foamie, method of construction?

Maybe use a different sail rig? One with less parts and one that requires less attention to use?

and possible lose the oars...and the rudder. Combine the function into something that won't float away.

The PDR (or it’s derivatives) would make a good foundation upon which to build...expect for the cost. (of materials and tools)

The foam boat is cheaper to build, uses almost no tools....but isn't’ a camp boat.

Perhaps a hybrid?

Sort:  

Excellent!

I built a raft with my 2 cousins when we were around 10 years old. We worked on it for a couple weeks. When we finally launched it, IT SANK LIKE A BOULDER!

It scarred me for life :-(

GEEZ
I image it would.

I'm perfectly satisfied with my inflatable motor boat

Some sort of tent could be implemented there too, but probably it doesn't make a proper camping boat yet )

If I had an inflatable I'd be happy too. I don't have one so I have to decide on something. The funding problem is the big thing. It's got to be (dirt) cheap.

Mine is about 1000$ plus about the same money for motor.
It isn't exactly dirty cheap, but affordable. About the same money my Steemit experiment costs me so far )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26