I want a boat- part IIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #boat8 years ago (edited)


I want a boat.


I always have, not that I’ve ever done anything about it. I grew up on the hi-plains, the Llano Estacado, of Texas and there wasn’t much need for a boat.

wikipedia


The nearest water deep enough to float anything were local lakes. Come to think there weren’t any very local. I can’t think of one within a hundred miles of home actually. Oh we had playa lakes



Texas Parks and Wildlife
.
and draws..
.
but they didn’t have water year round usually. When they DID have water in them it was during a toad-strangler


NBC News


Back home we used to have a saying. “We get about two foot of rain a year , and you ought to be here that day...it’s brutal.
.
The very last thing anyone was thinking of during one of those was going out boating.
.
So...I know nothing of boats.
.
But I want one.
.
But I haz no money. The story of my life has always been _if I have the time to do something ( no job) I don’t have the money to do it with, if I have some money ( has job) then I don’t have any time to spend it cause I’m too busy working. Of course the money barely made ends meet...but that’s another story.
.
So...here I am. Retired. Nothing but time...And no money.
.
But I still want a boat.
.
Little bitty used kayaks



Craig’s List

cost in the hundreds of dollars and the price takes off like a rocket from there. I don’t really want a kayak or a canoe. I’m a big old boy. six foot by 300lbs. I wouldn’t do too well in one of them. I think I’d do better in a small cruiser.


Shantyboat Living
.
Well maybe not that small. That would work though.
.
This looks a little better.



ShantyBoat Living


I want to ‘camp out’. The law in Texas is odd. Rivers and lakes, ON THE WATER, is public domain. Unless it’s a private pond, or something else special (drain pond for flood control..etc) then it’s ok for people to play on it. In fact it’s in the constitution.
.
BUT...the land is private. Most of it. Texas has about zero federal owned land except for military reservations, public orifice buildings and like that, and parks.
.
So...the odd thing is that you can float down any river. (river is defined as anything that has water in it year round...NOT a ‘torrent’. that’s different) It’s ok to be on the water but the land around it is most likely private property. Trespassing in Texas is a real bad idea. You’ve heard the saying Shoot, Shovel, and Shut-Up? Just saying
.
So...I need a camper boat. My dream would be to start at a headwater somewhere, then float to the gulf.



Texas Water Development Board


Or maybe the great loop

CaptainJohn
Or something.
.
But boats are expensive (see above) especially the kind I’m dreaming about.
.
SO...build one.
.
Turns out building material is expensive too. The price of lumber, plywood, etc, has skyrocketed...........too.
.
What to do..what to do.
.
I haz an idea.
.
Build a cement/foam boat.
.
This guy built a Kayak out of foam.
.


Instructables

.
He used Rigid Insulation board,

.


Home Depot

Gorilla Glue



Home Depot

.
TiteBond III



Rockler

and old bed sheets.



104 homestead

Of course I could do this



BUT HEY!
.
This is TEXAS.
We have Cattle Panels.


If he can build a greenhouse then I can't see why it wouldn't work for a boat. be a lot quicker than tying each individual piece of rebar together.
.
hmmmm.
.
I was thinking about using Fiber Reinforced Cement instead of TiteBond III



Quickrete

Like this



The idea would be to build a boat using available plans, but instead of using lumber and plywood, make the whole thing out of foam. Or maybe instead of lumber use cattle panels , or maybe just laminate the foam with cement soaked fabric, or maybe make the hull out of cattle-panel-chicken wire ferrocement and make the upper structure out of cement fabric over foam.
.
I think I’ll build a 1/12 scale (one in = 1 foot) model, or several, first.
To see what works and what doesn't work, don't you know.
Shucks, I might even add RC (radio control).
.

.
or maybe solar!

.

WHOA!!!

.
I haz no monies.... I has no monies. Must remember, I has no monies.
.
KISS and keep it small.
.
Saaaaaay!.
.
I have an idea.
.
Ya’ll upvote me...a LOT...and I will haz some monies?.
.
Then I can do stuff.
.
It should be interesting.



No boats were harmed in this presentation



I hope you enjoyed this
Yarn

.
Perhaps you might also enjoy
Other Books
that I have written.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.


The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
.
The first Image(thumbnail) is fromWoodenBoat Forum
.
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


writing scifi technology anarchy-fic apocalypse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84