You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Board game review: Titan Race

in #boardgames6 years ago

Thanks! Sure.
About the ages, I've played with people between 20s and 30s, so I can't talk from experience. I wanted to try with my nephews but they're three and five, and I think that's definitely too young XD. However, I think the theme is kid friendly (you can judge yourself by the pictures, but I think the monsters look funny and I would've loved them as a kid xD). As for the game itself, it'd be better if they already know how to read a bit, since the all cards explain what they do and having to memorize all by the drawing can be hard.
I guess you could also try to simplify the rules for kids and remove the bonus cards and/or the circuit effects (or choose a circuit that's easy and quick to resolve like the ice one). But sorry, this explanation is becoming quite long without a clear answer ^^".
I think it can be a great game for kids that already know some board games. As the first game I'd probably go for something simpler and card based (like sushi go for instance). And as I said, if you want to play with the bonus cards, they probably need to be able to read them.
As for the number of players, I've played mostly with two, and some games with 3 and 4. I think the game works best with as many people as possible, since it increases the chaos and thus the laughs. Three can be kind of disappointing because depending on the rolls you can have turns where nobody is close enough to another to do anything besides moving.
Surprisingly, it works pretty well with two people, since it has a "special mode" where every player has two monsters. This opens the door for cooperation and combined tactics (like pushing one of your monsters forward while the other tries to delay the enemies and stuff like that), and makes for pretty fun gameplay too.

Sort:  

Thanks for all the great info. It definitely sounds like one I'd like to try. I'll have to add it to my list. Based on what you've said, I think my kids and my game group would probably both like it.

You’re welcome! And it’s great to hear that, I hope you and your kids & friends like it if you end up buying it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15