You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reformed Video Gamer: How Board Games Took Over

in #boardgames7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Steemit! I've never tried any one player board games before. I didn't know it's a possibility to "play against the board". Video games nowadays are becoming more and more immersive. The graphics are beginning to look real. They are fun but for myself, I feel a little foggy or zombie-like after playing too much.

With boardgames, at least they can be social and seem to require a little more brainpower. If you're interested in new boardgames, I'm part of a team that is launching a new game called "Frenemies" within the next months. Most of the updates recently have been via our Facebook page but our main website has a better explanation of how the game is played.

21078529_10155852850029467_517917074856882400_n.jpg

Check it out if you're curious! I've re-steemed your post and followed you. Looking forward to future posts.

Sort:  

No way! Your game looks really neat. Following you back and joined ya on Facebook. I love the components look of your game and am very curious based on what you have shared.

I love playing board games with others too, I just took the "solo" approach with this article because I don't get a ton of opportunity to play with others, and spend a lot of time playing by myself. Oh I cherish the time playing with others though. So many fun dynamics.

There are many cooperative games, where you can play with a few of your friends, and you all play against the game. My wife enjoys this especially, because we aren't being competitive with each other. Plus, I can play these games myself, by just controlling multiple characters (I compare it to playing a video RPG, where you have multiple people in your party to manage).

Pandemic is a very popular co-op game.

Make sure to create a presence at BoardGameGeek for your game :)

Have you ever been to a boardgame cafe or restaurant? Back home in Canada I went to one in Vancouver and my friend and I actually played Pandemic. It was a great time!

RPGs are my favourite genre of video games so I think I would enjoy these games you mention. Especially fantasy or space themed ones like the two you mention above. What's always stopped me from getting into boardgames is that they are so expensive. But I guess if you think about it, it's the same price as a video game.

Thanks for the advice and thanks for the follow, both on here and on Facebook. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53912.73
ETH 2234.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30