Let's talk Board Games: IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #board7 years ago (edited)

Hi! Let's talk board games.
I've been into gaming for a few decades now.
I had an A.D.A.M. computer before I knew what board games were and even a Nintendo Entertainment System before board games.
Risk (1959). Risk was my first ever board game played, even before chess, albeit barely.
Playing Risk was exhilarating compared to video games. Though you could pull me away from Tetris, Final Fantasy, Dragon Warrior, and Zelda I would try to play board games in the video game down time.

Playing Risk was a challenge. Everyone gets a set of cards and places a single cube on each represented country. Then the first player places a few extra cubes and starts attacking. Dice vs dice; high rolls win; ties to defender. A teacher, 4 other students, and myself played. Last day of school, grade 2, after Mr. King taught us the basics, we dove in and packed out a game in an afternoon.

Chess, even today, is a challenge for me. I'm better at seeing a big picture, but not the details to get there. I rely on a lot of luck and random occurrences in games and games with a lot of those two elements are my specialty.

My all-time favourite board games are:

  1. Monopoly: I've lost one game; under a 20 minute time restriction; I was very careless.
  2. Mage Knight: Part deck-builder, part hand management, part adventure, part strategy, and some decent luck. I find Mage Knight to be fun and challenging, even if it takes a few hours to play.
  3. Eclipse: A space Risk played over 9 game rounds. Expand the universe and your empire while making allies or foes.
  4. Firefly: Joss Whedon's FIrefly made adventure board game. Find crew. Get jobs. Keep flying.
  5. I debate between Risk (1959) and Talisman here. Since we all know about Risk (the 3-hour game) I'll talk about Talisman. Roll dice and move. Encounter another character or the space you land on. Get stronger and claim the crown of command to kill your opponents for good.

I am very uncertain how often I will be posting; this is technically my first on the internet. I'll be reviewing, quick-explaining, and giving my overall opinion about all my games in alphabetical order. I have 268 and growing and I have at least 1 game for each letter of the alphabet. Did you know Amway made a board game called "Victory Circle"? It's my only 'V' game.

Alright. This is it for now.
Thanks
1MainPic.jpg

Sort:  

Love board games. Following you

I love board games! I just don't have anyone who likes them, too, and wants to play with me. I'm not even sure I have a favorite. I like most of them. We have Battleship, Life, and Trivial Pursuit laying, unused, around the house. And, back in 1986, my hometown put out a Monopoly-based game (called Millionaire, but it was just like Monopoly) with the streets and landmarks of the town in it for the town's centennial celebration.

That was me for a decade or so. Then I found my way to my current city and found out, afterwards, that there was a thriving board game community: 200-300 gamers.

I'm glad you found your tribe. I'm still looking for my own board gaming tribe. ;)

Congratulations @kaminosamurai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love board games too :) beautiful collection!

Wow! Looking at your picks, i thought Battlestar Galactica would ace the list! Your thoughts on the game? I usually prefer 2-player games with my wife, and i'm not a huge sci-fi fan. But this game hooked me right from the get go!

Love boardgames!! I cannot agree with you on monopoly and risk. I mean monopoly purely cuz I suck a lot at it and just hate that game. But Risk is a good "enter into boardgame world" game. But once you enter there are so much more better and more dynamic world domination strategy games such as Game of Thrones, Chaos in the old world, Blood rage...
My Rising Sun is coming so I will tell you if that one is better as well :D

Boardgames are the best hobby! i love em all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69