Parents Beware: Blue Whale Challenge (A Warning)

in #bluewhalechallenge7 years ago (edited)

bluewhale6.jpg

This post is simply to raise awareness, and goes out to all parents out there.

I just learned all of this information in the past 20 minutes. There is a sick and twisted new challenge out there called the Blue Whale Challenge, which might sound innocent, but trust me, it's not.

parentsbluewhale.jpg

It's been said to have originated in Russia, where over 130 kids have already died as a result of doing this challenge.

What it entails is the following:

Participants (generally teenage children) complete a series of tasks, one per day for a total of 50 tasks in 50 days. The last challenge is to commit suicide. I'm not joking, I wish I were. The tasks start out very simple, very innocent, like watching a scary movie. There are online "curators" who supervise and search out vulnerable and possibly suicidal kids to participate in this game. Participants are also told to document each challenge via pictures or video.

In San Antonio Texas, a 15 - year- old boy was found hanging in his bedroom. This just happened on July 8th, 2017. He was broadcasting his final challenge (suicide) over social media.

29906170001_5506435515001_5506415222001-vs.jpg

Here is some information I have found on Wikipedia:

Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 1.08.09 PM.png

Please, parents, do not take this information lightly. Be aware of your children's activities on the internet. Do not think that your child is either too young and won't understand something like this or is too smart to do something like this.

Curators purposely have these kids wake up very early (4:20-4:30) each morning while the challenges get harder and more gruesome so that they are more easily persuaded to do them. Again, the challenges in the beginning might be innocent, like watching horror movies, but get more and more dark and twisted, as many kids are told to carve blue whales into their arms with knives.

I don't like making posts like this, but I send this out in the hope that more people will become aware of potential dangers that are posed to the children of today.

Much love,

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

Well I’m a father of a 8 year old boy, and I’m aware kids nowadays spend quite some time on the internet on their tablets or whatever device. I heard of this blue whale thing before but was not aware of the details like easy-entry tasks.
So I appreciate the information you provided here, and even I might not be affected yet, it could affect very soon as kids grow rapidly.

Parents out there... one more thing on the list or take care of :)

Have a good one

My pleasure :) you never know! Always better to play it safe!

Thanks @vegansilverstack for raising awareness. Forwarded to a good friend who is a mom of two.

Resteemed! Upvoted.

Thank you @globocop. I appreciate you doing that.

Thank YOU my friend. This needs to go as far and wide as possible.

Scary stuff my kids are still babies and i can only image what will be going on in 10-15years...

This is ridiculous. Too many things to live for. Thanks for sharing

Agreed. My pleasure.

wtf... ty.... by the way, I thought your name was vegas , vegan is so much cooler, I try to eat as little meat as possible, and no pork or beef, peace dude

Thanks. That's good! peace!

My heart just sank reading this. Thanks for the heads-up.

Mine did too when I read it. You're welcome.

Such stupid games! We didn't have that growing up in the 70's. . .

I know, how messed up is this? There are people out there just preying on the youth and trying to manipulate them so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.26
ETH 2696.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88