Blue Turkey Contest--Rustic Vegan Scalloped Sweet Potatoes with Cashew Herb Sauce

in #blueturkeycontest7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit folks!  I am happy once again to join in on a really fun challenge initiated by @lenasveganliving with an adorable one-of-a-kind prize handmade by @barbara-orenya!  I always love #fruitsandveggiesmonday, but with the approaching holiday here in the states it is even more fun to add a little twist to the usual.  I have been having fun in the kitchen all morning, so I may just have to put in a post for the regular Monday contest if I get the chance, as well.

One of my assigned dishes for my family's Thanksgiving meal is a sweet potato side.  I pretty much love anything with potatoes, but I wanted to try to come up with something a little bit different than I would normally do.  I do not think I have had scalloped potatoes since going plant-based with my nutrition, so I figured I was up to the challenge to try to create something of my own to fit the bill.  Luckily, my first try tasted spectacular enough to share!

My sister has an allium allergy, so my family has gotten pretty good at being creative without using garlic or onions.  Using fresh herbs is a great way to make up for any lack of depth in flavor.  Since @dksart had gone to the market for me and got a few bulbs of fennel (for other sister-friendly holiday contributions), I had a whole cascade of fronds to use.  If you do not have any fresh fennel, feel free to use a bit of tried or just omit.  I am a big fan of using recipes as a base and then changing to my own likes, so it won't hurt my feelings one bit if you like my recipe enough to try it on your own with a few tweaks!

I am also not quite to the level of food presentation as some of you wonderful bloggers are, so my dish is a bit more rustic.  I have to admit that though I really enjoy cooking, I do not like things to be too fussy or take too long.  Mixing potatoes and sauce all together before putting it in the baking dish made it so much quicker than trying to arrange the potatoes in a visually pleasing manner.  I will definitely double the recipe for Thanksgiving, so if you have a fairly large group I would definitely suggest doing that, as well!

Rustic Vegan Scalloped Sweet Potatoes with Cashew Herb Sauce

Makes about 8 moderate servings 

  • 1 1/2 pounds sweet potatoes, thinly sliced (as usual, the food processor is a huge help!)
  • 1/2 cup cashews, soaked overnight & drained
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh water
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder or cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary (2-3 full sprigs)*
  • 10-12 leaves fresh sage*
  • 1 handful fennel fronds (optional)*
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup pecan pieces

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Lightly grease a 9-inch x 9-inch (about 2 quart) casserole dish.

Place your sliced potatoes in a mixing bowl, then prepare the herb cashew sauce.  In a blender add your soaked cashews through the black pepper.  Blend on high speed until combined.  Pour into the bowl with the sweet potatoes and mix together.

Add your potato mixture to your prepared pan.  Cover and place in the oven to bake for 45 minutes.  Remove the cover.  Sprinkle your pecan pieces over the top then return to the oven.  Bake for an additional 10-15 minutes.

* You can substitute dried herbs for the fresh, just use about a third as dried are much more potent! 

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR WELL-EARNED AWARD!
1.png

I am so grateful for you and this wonderful community! And thank you again @barbara-orenya for such joyful artwork that I am sure puts a smile on many faces! :)

gratefulturkey.png

Happy happy my dear ! Just leave me your adress somewhere...steemitchat is ok, with same name barbara-orenya, or barbara orenya, I can't remember but you will find ;-)

I am about to head out to Thanksgiving dinner with my family, but I will find you next time I get a chance to get on the computer! :)

My pleasure Dear @plantstoplanks, HAPPY THANKSGIVING..............make sure you find Barbara on Steemit chat, so she can send you the drawing 🌸💖🌸

I bet they taste delicious.............thank you so much my Dear 🌺🍁🌺🍁

We are definitely enjoying the taste test! Thank you for hosting another fun contest! :)

Always a pleasure my Dear and thank you for joining 🌸💖🌸

The first photo really looks amazing, I am glad you added 🌸💖🌸

Thanks for catching that! :)

This looks very healthy.

Thanks! I try to use whole food ingredients as much as possible in my cooking!

What a brilliant vegan alternative to a classic dish. My mouth is salivating, I might have to try making this! Followed and upvoted :)

Thank you! I hope you give it a try!

This sounds delicious !!!! ^_^ Love sweet potatoes , yum yum =p
Good luck for the contest ;-)
victoire.png

Oh my that must be delicious!! Thank so much for sharing!

Thanks for checking it out Maru! I'll be making it twice more this week now, so I'm glad it's good enough to eat all week. ;)

this looks so interesting. one of the most original recipes I've seen on this thanksgiving themed content.

Thanks for the compliment! It really all came together quite well. Now hopefully everyone else enjoys it for the holiday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57978.54
ETH 2283.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47