30 Days Until Bloomer -- Thoughts About Creating My First Solo Mixtape/Record

in #bloomer7 years ago

DAMN DAMN DAMN YEA!!! It has been a long and winding road leading to the release of my debut mixtape/EP, "Bloomer".

This is the end result of more than a year of hard work and struggle, trying to create beautiful music for you. There were many times when I questioned if I'd ever finish it.

Creating a Record All By Myself

The ultimate goal of Bloomer was to create a record all by myself. Every note, every mix, post-production, artwork, EVERYTHING. There was no real reason to do it, I just wanted to see if I could. A personal challenge.

It taught me the power of "first principles", which is the idea of having very defined ideas that guide your project. In this case, my principles were simple and twofold:

(1) Make music that I love to hear.
(2) Create it entirely by myself.

When times got tough - like when I was struggling to create the album art, or when I tried to master the record for the first time and had horrible results - it would have been easy to give up on these principles. I had a friend offer to do mastering on the record for me, and it would have been so much easier... but I knew what I set out to do, and that wasn't it.

Keeping those principles in mind allowed me to do exactly the record I wanted to do. It leaves me in a place now where I am so happy with myself, and with the artwork. It's a beautiful feeling to overcome immense obstacles, challenges that threatened to defeat you.

Bloomer Comes Out on October 19, 2017

I hope you'll give it a listen when it comes out... You might really love it.

Sort:  

Great job, and very exciting! I look forward to hearing it Matt!

Good luck dude , Im considering putting a out a tape of some of my souncdloud Mp3's and then sell/give them away when I play gigs. However I will be looking for help especially artwork.

That makes sense, 99% of musicians should probably just outsource the visual art.

Why do tapes? Most people aren't able to listen to tapes anymore.

Well in the little garage punk scene I am involved in people do tapes. Its a nice physical product that is not to expensive and I think you can put a DL code in there . The next product up in my scene is vinyl and we all know how expensive that is,

yea makes sense

Congrats man! Can't wait to hear it :)

Thanks dimitri!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76