Consolacion Heritage Exhibit | Carlito Blog

LRM_EXPORT_20180623_132116.jpg

Consolacion is one of the municipality here in Cebu, Philippines. It was just yesterday when the Consolacionanons (the local people in Consolacion) celebrated their 147th annual fiesta. As a contribution to the recent occasion, I share this wonderful exhibit that manifests a historical heritage of Consolacion.

I have never entered museums or exhibits before, I wanted to but I wasn't able to. In Sm Consolacion, there is a heritage museum about the place Consolacion. It showcases the beauty of artworks such as artifacts, preserved souvenirs, and historical stories.

LRM_EXPORT_20180623_131459.jpg

The exhibit has no entrance fee at all. It is open for everyone who wishes to witness inside. To get in, everyone should log their name, address, and contact number. This is commonly authorized for some museums and exhibits though it could be a great loss if someone tries to steal or vandalize something that they own.

center 1.jpg

As I enter the exhibit, the first thing that welcomes are these "religious items" they called. These things are probably ecclesiastical and sacred. They managed to preserve these items though I think they believed and are devoted to these things.

center.jpg

The next section is where "Sarok" hats are being displayed. These "Sarok" are hats that are made from bamboo and banana leaves. These are the Consolacion's vital components as these hats symbolizes the unity and development of life in Consolacion. Sarok is famous here in Consolacion though they would celebrate Sarok Festival every month of February.

LRM_EXPORT_20180623_132048.jpg

Next thing to be seen is these traditional outfits. Displayed in the center of the exhibit that shows the elegant attire of the women from past generations. Various types like "Kimona", "Cariñosa", and etc can be seen here.

LRM_EXPORT_20180623_131710.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180623_135106.jpg

On the right side, they showcased the historical looks of Consolacion from the past. They included the old look of their public market, their central school and also their wonderful church. Also, they have a picture of the town's fiesta in the year 1965. As what I have stated above, it was yesterday when they held their 147th annual fiesta.

cabinet 2.jpg

cabinet 9.jpg

cabint 6.jpg

Above in this corner, they have put some faces of their past elected government individuals. In memory of these people, they highly respect and are proudly representing them as one of the most important personalities of Consolacion.

Below is a long cabinet filled with various artifacts. There are fighting materials that are well-preserved. They also had managed to conserve some Philippine currencies including the old 1-peso look.

cabinet 4.jpg

cabinet 7.jpg

cabinet 8.jpg

In the cabinet, there are also old jars, plates, lamps, and other types of home equipment.

cabinet 1.jpg

cabinet 3.jpg

cabinet 5.jpg

Alongside, there are musical instruments that are displayed. There is also an old radio and album that I thought of very interesting.

The most wonderful thing I have seen was this old typewriter. I have never seen a typewrites as old as these. I wanted to touch it but I know it is prohibited.

I was also impressed by this miniature house that was made very simple and perfect.

left side two.jpg

left side 1.jpg

On the left side, there are a lot of traditional artifacts that are preserved and displayed. There are pots and jars that were made by the locals in Consolacion.

There was also an old equipment used for grating coconuts and stuff. There is also an old "Sunkaan" which where the traditional game "Sunka" is played.

LRM_EXPORT_20180623_131002.jpg

The last but not the least is this mannequin wearing a beautiful Sinulog dress Honestly, I nearly had a heart attack when I saw this. I thought the mannequin was moving and suddenly striked a pose but it wasn't. Funny though but really, I was impressed.

The exhibit was pretty awesome. I have learned and saw a lot of new things. I was filled with ignorance after exiting the exhibit though I have never seen those before. It was nice to witness a heritage exhibit of any places.

I was supposed to write this blog yesterday along with the fiesta but I wasn't able to. I am still sick and tired. Luckily, my day was so boring that I have surprisingly written this whole blog today.


All photos were capture using Samsung Galaxy J7 Core

References: 1 2


DSC_0330-01.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi @carlitojoshua. Congratulations!

You've been featured by @steemph.cebu on our Daily Feature of Authors #11. You've chosen as the top best blogs of this day. With that, you've enjoyed the benefits for being featured.

Continue to post more quality content having #cebu & #philippines as part of your tags.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99