You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: friendship and loyalty in a followers and likes culture

Miss Diva isn’t even a friend or follower of mine on any of my social media sites. She’s deactivated herself many years ago.

Smart woman. :)

People would fare better in life if they ratcheted down the need for constant validation from others and worked on self validation. Great post.

Sort:  

It’s funny how starved people are for constant validation. Social media as a tool can be so useful but people communicate at junk food quality. Is it people or social media at fault? Personally, I see social media as a magnifying glass that can display one’s emptiness and vanity or goodness and wisdom.

I hope all is well in your world, Jason.

JNET

Thank you, changes afoot but then that is one of lifes constants :)

Glad to see you still posting. So many I follow have dropped off in the last year.

I do think social media magnifies as well. Many seem to display ideals they never emulate in their real lives (based on those I knew when I was using other social media) and has seemed to encourage rampant narcissism along with other bad structures such as encouraging others to continue self sabotaging behaviors. It bothers me that people seem so disconnected from one another in the physical world yet can't seem to put down their electronic connections for the briefest of moments. But then I'm not much for needing a lot of attention so perhaps that's what I'm not getting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52