Stop Trying to Help

in #blogs7 years ago (edited)

I keep thinking I've learned this lesson, but then I find myself wondering how I've made a mess of things yet again. I was just trying to share a bit of wisdom that has helped me, and it backfired for one reason or another. I started with genuinely good intentions, right?

It seems like pride is waiting around every corner I turn. When I get a new piece of the puzzle, learn a new and exciting piece of truth, I want to share it with anyone and everyone who will listen. I want to give them the answer so they can solve their own problems. I want to help.

I want to help. I want others to benefit from the great progress I've made. But I don't always like being told the answers; I like to discover them on my own. This is a contradiction between my behavior and my values. A blind spot. And now the pride is apparent.

I remember to loosen my grip on my sense of self. To put my ego back where it belongs.

1

The masters of the planet did not see people like most people do. When they looked at people, the first thing they saw in each person was God. It wasn't merely a nice thought of which they would sometimes remind themselves. It was a fact that was always at the forefront of their minds. It was the most important truth about the person.

This means they did not look at a person and see what needed to be fixed, what was broken or ugly. They didn't see inferior beings who needed help. They saw the God inside, playing human.

If this is not my behavior, I'm thinking in a lower frequency, possibly wrapped up in my ego without realizing it.

2

There are some things that trigger in me a negative response. When I discover an automatic response in my behavior that I don't like, I can reprogram it.

Some people say these triggers are just part of being human, that we need to just learn to be aware of them and compensate for them. This is a fixed mindset that hinders progress.

Instead, I think of these triggers more conceptually. They're engrams. They're behavioral templates that beg to be changed. Rewriting these engrams is a matter of pure intent, not "how-to" knowledge.

3

When I'm not wrapped up in my ego, I will be proud of myself in a way that is appropriate. This is not 'pride' in the common sense of the word. It is a quiet, happy knowing that who I am is good. It's a feeling or sensation that doesn't need to be translated into words.

This kind of 'pride' will never drive me to show others how proud I am of who I've become. There will be no desire to spill it all out in words. The overflow of this is compassion, with no hidden agenda or secondary motive. This kind of 'pride' is actually humility.

4

Anger will no longer be an attribute of my life. Disappointment and sorrow may take its place, but there will be no anger. Anger, like fear, carries with it a biological sequence of changes to brain chemistry. These changes cascade into a chain reaction that effects consciousness. These are like short circuits, bypassing the higher-frequency consciousness and giving control to lower-frequency thinking, the primal survival mindset.

5

Bringing about these changes in my life is not a matter of willpower or significant effort on my part. It is a matter of intent, and of clearly and purely expressing this intent to myself. The multidimensional intelligence that resonates from my DNA will take care of the rest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90