How to win more followers? (and be the King of Steem!)

in #blogging7 years ago (edited)

When we analyze other social networks, the key to people's success is their subscriber numbers. Not what they earn, no no no no, you will be judged only by the number of people who follow you.

So I asked myself : How do I win more subscribers on Steem ?

As you will undoubtedly have already noticed, I count far fewer followers than most of you. Um.

Before anything else: introduce yourself to the community. It's THE crucial time to win the first followers. It's now... or never (or almost never). We take out the big game, we talk about ourselves, we self-create and so on* (and you can get inspired by my Introduction post. What do you mean I'm bragging?)*.

giphy-downsized-large.gif

First thing, choose a theme for your blog. A theme? Yes, a theme. The more accurate it is, the more likely you are to reach your target (followers). For example, for@roxane, I chose the theme of support for french newcomers. It's very specific and will probably follow me therefore a good part of the new ones, those who still have a bit of trouble with blockchain technology and those who want to support the development of the FR community.

When you're a blogger, it's important to know who you're talking to, who your audience is. If you don't know it, that you write for everyone... in the end, it doesn't inspire anyone.

Secondly, remember that there are maybe not so many people who speak your mother tongue (so, write in english!). And that a follower, it is interesting for you from the moment when he is interested in what you tell him. Well, that finally matches what I said earlier.

So it's not a question of having hundreds of followers who will eventually put you in mute because they don't care about your favourite subjects.

For example, if you only talk about food, try to get followers on food blogs and not IT blogs. It is unlikely that an IT will be affected by your cookies and cannelloni posts.

Thirdly, get involved in the community (and that's at the finish, THE point the most important but I still put it in third place so that you already have a strategy to attract your followers.)

source. gif

  • Welcome newcomers. It may sound strange, but believe me or not, I try my best to welcome all the people who have just landed under hastag FR combined with Introduceyouself. On the one hand, it is welcoming for a new user. He feels valued (if you upvoted him), he feels immediately part of the community and it makes him want to stay (because if he has fallen on Steemit, it can scare him off, for example, it's up to you to redirect him to Busy).

  • Go comment under the topics of articles that interest you, it will allow you to be noticed by your relevant comments, your sympathy, your voting power * (Muahahaha)*. Be regular, be visible.

  • Take a walk on the Steemit Chat (and then especially on Discord too). Chat with people, make friends, be interested in them and you will see... they will be interested in you!

  • Participate in contests, it gives you some visibility.

  • Participate in all possible IRL* activities (meaning In Real Life for those who don't know)* like Meetups (and SteemFest!). Meeting people in person creates a bond, so people will be better able to follow you (and therefore upvote!).

*Launch a crazy idea to the community. For example, I saw one of my compatriots launch the BeerSunday Challenge. And it works well! And then he gives rewards, challenges people and receives so much more in return!

Fourthly, be consistent. As with everything you do, consistency is an extremely important factor in your success.

On the one hand because it allows you to create a bond with your followers (they don't have time to forget you Muahahahha -> psychadelic laugh). And don't forget that a happy subscriber can bring his friends back to you!

And on the other hand, by posting regularly, it will potentially attract more people as you will be more visible.

(Ps: Don't do what I did with my channelYoutube where I post sometimes, just when I want. Post once a month, once a week or once a day, but decide and stick to it! ).

Fifth, (and my favorite) create unique and quality content. People will follow you for what you're saying, to find out what you have to say, because you're answering one of their problems, because it answers one of their questions.

giphy. gif

Sixth, use the right tags. huhuhu. I can hear you laughing already. **But... what tag? What tag should I use? In fact, I'm not capable of answering you. Actually, I'm in the same boat as you. I don't know.. So, I use the the successfull tags (Life/Travel/Steem/Community/Crytpo/etc). Because the purpose of tagging is to have visibility. It should always be connected with the subject of your post !

And finally, be yourself (because as it would say : 'all the others are already taken')! People like authentic people, with their own personality and style! It will make them want to know you, and then you look human. Not just a copy and paste of whoever.

Last important point: There are a lot of things you don't need to do to win Followers, but this will be part of a next article :-) This one is long enough.

i

All this reflects my opinion and if you have one too, feel free to share it and expand this list to help as many people as possible!

Sort:  

Another excellent article

I think we already know the QUEEN of Steem, the amazing, Madame Royale, La Francophone Extraordinaire, @roxane l'Excellent!

Yes, vive @roxane ;-) !

LOL @fitzgibbon you are crazy :D I am not and probably will never be a queen here ;-) By the way, I am from Belgium :D

Thanks for your tips,actually I want to be a king of steem one day,I need increase my follower.

There can only be so many kings, would you like to be the first Steem Sultan?

ha ha ha....... yes bro,I would be like to first sultana on steem.

Just memorize the above @roxane post, follow it to the letter every day, repeat that 365 days and I guarantee your Sultana Steem badge. :)

So good continuation !

very useful information good work

Great guide for newcomers (like myself)!!! I'll give some of these a try :)

Very helpful and intresting post!

Things not to do will be an intersting article @roxane

Wow this is such an excellent article. Today marks my first week here in Steemit and I still haven't got the hang of it. One thing that really got my attention was the creating a consistent and quality, personalized content. Im not sure what I really want to write about on a dailyy basis coz I have so much going on, but I thbk it helps to narrow down my content. Im saving your post for future refernce lol. Thanks for this. Im looking forward to more of your posts

Goog job @roxane, it's always a pleasure to read you

ohhh @mikatahiti ! Tu es toujours là :-))) Helloo

Yes I am!! Hellooooo 😁😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84