The Calling of Destiny

in #blogging7 years ago


The Reason I am here

Good Morning Steemians.  I just gotta share this with you. 

    or     I guess this question applies to each of us individually.  But for now for the purposes of this blog its all about me...  

I woke up this morning after posting my first blog around midnight last night.

                                                                             

To my surprise I had $2.80 reward attached to my blog, not to mention  9 followers.  This never happened to me  on youtube. I made serveral videos and never received one cent.  Hey at the time YouTube was the only game in town.  Maybe I could get friends will give me $3.00  but that has noting to do with producing anything worth sharing.  

Later that morning at  7 Am while riding the bus to work i started doing the mental calculations.  Wow approximately 3 bucks a day for 30 days…. $90 dollars. 

I felt like a kid who was about to steal candy from a baby.  You know the one pictured above   With my luck the baby will bite !!!

Then the  inescapable  questions began to seep into my little itty bitty brain.  me.  Why am I here? What is it i am truly after in the Steemit community?  We all want the coin… right?   As you find out  as you read that these questions gave rise to  answers that helped clarify my reasons wanting to blog. 

 Well maybe some others might say that the money is not important.  People who say they don’t care about the money are either already set financially or are rare individuals who don’t care about keeping the lights on.   I fall under a third category.  That is ...  I have a full time job but I certainly could use the additional income.

However, I gotta be honest to my self about my own nature. I am lazy by nature. An extra 3 dollars wasn’t going to be enough to get me up at 5:00 am everyday as it did this morning. What excited me was doing something that I truly love. I like sharing my thoughts and I like connecting with people.  Having someone give me feedback by upvoting me means that to those few people who upvoted me think that my thoughts were worth spending time on. This translates into steam power which is  money in the steam power piggy bank!!  OINK OINK !

  

Are those Steem Tokens I see in there?    Now stay piggy stay.!!!!  That's a good little piggy 

The truth is that $3.00 dollars ( ok... it’s really $2.80 but i like to exaggerate) is not going to make me keep blogging.  I have a lot of activity going on in my life.  So I could be spending my time else where.  So  three bucks certainly won’t keep me blogging faithfully, and joyously.  There is something that I realized that moves me to blog.


Paying It Forward

I am feeling something that I have not felt in a while… HOPE!.   It is the hope for a better quality of life; hope for making a difference; hope for joining communities;  and hope for the long term change in my quality of life.   It’s HOPE that woke me up at 5:00 AM so that I could check my blog and see how many followers I have.

It’s the HOPE that I can bring others into the Steemit fold,  who could use the emotional and financial boost.   Hope gives way to the possibility of change, and change gives way to the possibility of improvement.  Improvement means a better quality of life for me and those in my circle of influence because hope is contagious.   

The Power Of One

 One person who refuses to sit in the back of the bus can start an entire movement.  One person who has the vision to change the entire cell phone industry.  It's one person who started with the idea that posting  your  face, and all your personal  business on line would generate a multibillion dollar company.  

All it takes is one person to start hoping for the future. Before you know it,  that very hope that woke me up at 5:00 AM this morning is payed forward to others.  I feel that I am that one person.  Well perhaps one of many who has found hope.  But it just takes one. 


Nailing it down

Perhaps you can see why feel like I found my thing, my calling, my happy space.  I think I nailed down for myself.  I sincerely hope that perhaps others reading this post will be  hopeful and inspired also. 

One last point before I run off... As I write this blog I am finding it causes me to reflect on myself and my values.  As I write I seem that I have a choice whether or not to be the best I can be   It’s like getting to know me all over again.  

What do therapist always say  “keep a journal of your thoughts so that you can reflect on your evolution”.  Blogging is therapeutic for sure.   If just one person can relate to what I've shared  in this post then it’s well worth the time it took to write it. 


Thanks for reading my thoughts.   You are getting to know me just as I am getting to know myself. 

Steemians let’s keep it moving it


Peace out !!

Sort:  

Congratulations @offthechain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of comments
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good evening steemitboard. Thanks for replying to post and throwing some badges my way.
You do have quite a few followers. Any pointers you can throw my way would be greatly appeciated.

Thanks for the recognition.
It’s nice to get recognition of any kind.
I hope to hear a lot more from your team.
Have a good weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39