The painful grip of mental health problems

in #blogging2 years ago

About half a year ago, I tried blogging and really enjoyed it. I started posting regularly, but other life factors were limiting my time. I never struggled to be creative. Even in my gloomiest times, I was able to come up with possible topics and titles to write about. The reason why I didn't write was not a lack of motivation. I had to stop doing what I wanted and enjoyed because it was too challenging for my mental strength.

image.png

Blogging is a popular side- or even full-time job. (Picture: Pexels, Pixabay)

Excuses

Now, I am not asking for pity, even though, effectively, I'm asking for an excuse. Instead, I want to remind every content creator to listen to their body. Mine has been screaming loudly for a long time, asking for a break. I chose to ignore it and even got used to it. Now I am suffering the consequences. I knew that I was on the way to falling apart, but I chose to push. Please, please do not do that! You cannot create content when you are struggling at a mental level. You are punishing yourself in vain if you try to move mountains when raising a pebble is an exhausting task.

image.png

“Blogger” — an abstract digital artwork that I generated using the AI in the Wombo Dream app.

What can I do to prevent it?

Well, this is a good question. I know it is simple to say to just take a break, and everything will be fine. No. Maybe I am still at a very early phase of my recovery, but I believe that I would not be where I am professionally and personally had I chosen to take a break. Doors opened before me that would have remained locked had I decided to take my breath. Maybe others would have opened, and I would perhaps be still satisfied with myself.

image.png

A nice stack of rocks in a natural park. (Picture: Pexels, Nico Becker)

The long journey ahead

Recovery from mental health issues takes a long time. It is not any different from weight loss. Problems evolve over the years, and neither can they just miraculously vanish.

What is your experience?


This article is reposted also on my other blogging and social profiles.

https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

Check out more of my artworks in my community on Ko-Fi.

https://ko-fi.com/neurodivergent_ai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63