SHARING MY BLOGGING TIPS FOR NEW STEEMIANS

in #blogging6 years ago

Here in Steemit, we are all essentially bloggers. Some of us write better than others, but it Is our trade nonetheless. That is why I believe that we need to do our best for the sake of our readers and followers, and also to at least repay the opportunity given to us by this site to express our selves, and be rewarded for it.

It is not my first time to make a blog. I have attempted to write before, first on WordPress and then in blogger. While I was doing my missionary duties in Ghana, Africa, I was inspired to write my experiences there in order to share the many peculiar and unique things I saw there. It was only later that I discovered that I can get rewarded for this thru AdSense, and so, I applied. But unluckily my application was not approved, probably due to the very strict standards that Google maintains, but the details, I really didn't know, and didn't really bothered to find out.

gcc Adsense.png

My first blog, Gold Coast Chronicles named after Ghana's old name given by the British colonizers.

I was able to write about twelve articles, the first eight almost written in succesion. But, as I said in my #introduceyourself [post}(https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@irmao.dan/introducing-myself), writer's block got the best of me, maybe in part because of the disappointment brought about by my failed AdSense application. Being rewarded for doing something you love makes you just want to do it more. That, thankfully, is not the case here in Steemit. We are given equal opportunity to hone our craft, and how successful you become here, is totally up to you.

That is why I want to share some tips, especially for those just starting to write. These things, for me, can jump-start your journey into the world of blogging. I am not claiming to be an expert writer already, but I think that these will be a really big help for upcoming bloggers here in Steemit. If you think otherwise, then feel free to post a comment below. I am always open to constructive criticism.

Here we go.

Quantity first before quality
Write as much as you can. Write about anything and everything that comes to mind. You will eventually see the direction that your blog is going as time goes by. Plus, the time you spend on writing will definitely help in improving the quality of your work as you go on.

blogging-2620148_1920.jpg

Set aside time to write.
Organize your schedule in such a way that you will be able to find time to write at least one article every one or two days. Keep notes on topics that you would like to write, so that you won´t forget them. Apps like Simplenote are very useful in doing this as is syncs all your notes to all your devices, so as not to lose them. This will give you enough material to post within the 7 day time period before the payout of your first post, thus ensuring continuity of income.

Use the language you are most comfortable with.
Although the major part of the articles written here in Steemit is written in English (i think), you can also use other languages to express yourself. I myself have already posted one in my native language, tagalog. Do not be ashamed in using your native tongue in writing and you'll be surprised how much positive feedback you'll get from you using your own language.

Proofread before posting.
If you are writing in English, always check for any grammar mistakes that might be present in your work before posting it. Now, I know that most of us don't have the time anymore to review our English grammar and all it's complicated rules, but I think this is needed for a very good product. Luckily through the help of modern technology, there are tools you can use to do your checking for you. There are apps like Grammarly and Ginger that you can use to check for errors in spelling and other grammar mistakes (available in the premium option) to help in polishing your article.

Expand your grammar
Try to enrich your treasury of words to avoid redundancy and enhance the quality of your writing. Know the different synonyms of words that you often use in your articles, or at least google for similar words that you may use instead to avoid repetitiveness in your blogs.

For Steemit, learn how to maximize your earning potential of your blogs
Do your best to read posts from more experienced Steemians in order to learn "the tricks of trade", as they say. It does not help to be a know-it-all here and you can always benefit in asking questions and reading posts from successful Steemians on how they achieved their goals.

As the old Filipino proverb says,"Ang mapagtanong, daig ang taong marunong." (An inquisitive person surpasses a wise man.") Always be open to learning.

I hope that you've learned something from this article. If there's anything that you can add, don't be shy to post down on the comments. Thanks for reading.

Tchau! Até mais a gente!

IMG_3322.jpg

Sort:  

Very well written. Thank you so much. This will really help us - the minnows. :)

We all need to help each other in anyway we can. Steem on!

thank you once again :)

This blog is informative and would be a big help for newbies. thank you for sharing this.

Thanks po. 😊

interesting topic...I like this blog....:)

Thanks po. 😊

Congratulations @irmao.dan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow thanks for this post. It will be very helpful to me. Ngayon lang ako nagba-blog. Salamat sa mga tips. Parang kinakausap mo ko haha. God bless and more power.

Thanks po. I hope makatulong po ito in any little way. I wish you success sa steemit! Steem on! 😁


Great tips from someone who's into blogging
^o^
parang mahirap lang sundin yung
quantity first

for first time bloggers like me
Mejo nakaka-drain po magsulat eh haha

Hehe. Oo nga po e. Pero Write as often as you can. About anything. 😊


I will try po.
~
Actually, i take notes in google keep
Like for future blog posts here
But more often than not yung picture na i-insert in between ang nagpapabagal talaga sakin
Tska inaabot ako ng ilang beses na edit...
~
I wish i can write as fast as the others so i can post more :/

I think that’s totally ok. Kahit mabagal sa umpisa. Just as long as it’s a part of your routine. In time bibilis din po tayo. Hopefully maging consistent ang publishing ng articles.

Yaass, to everything you said :)

Thanks for the info irmao! Keep on steeming, so proud of you! 😘😘😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60843.73
ETH 3406.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57