What Not To Do When Leaving a Comment On Someone's Blog

in #blogging7 years ago

I came across something on my blog last weekend.

I was going through the comments on one of my more popular posts and noticed a comment similar to one I had just approved. I went to the most recent comments and there it was, the same comment, word for word. It was copied and pasted by someone who basically was just trying to link drop while not adding any value to the original post.

Needless to say, I went through other comments left by this person and found out that it was done more than once. I deleted all the comments this person left and blacklisted the IP. I actually blacklisted numerous IP's that day. This particular person had the nerve to use two different names and IP's. I caught it when I noticed that the email address was the same for both names.

My advice to you is NEVER copy and paste anyone else's comments just to be able to drop a link, especially when the original comment is only one or two lines long. There's absolutely no value to comments like that. You open yourself up to being blacklisted by the blog owner thus ending any chance of building a relationship with him/her.

I have activated a setting on my security plugin which blocks the copy and paste option. The only way someone will be able to leave the same comment will be by having to type the whole thing, which is too time consuming.

If you really want to build the relationship using blog commenting, you need to be honest and write your own comments based on your experiences or lack thereof in regards to the topic. When you do that, you are a adding value to the conversation, and that's what gets you noticed by the author as well as others who are reading the comments.

Leaving a short comment just to get a link back to your blog is a sure way of not getting noticed. Most bloggers moderate their comments and those types of comments usually end up in the spam folder, never to be seen by anyone.

If I start to see the same people doing it, I will blacklist them so I don't have to deal with it. Time is too important and could be better used to move my business in the right direction.

Have a good one......Chris

Sort:  

Yep, I have seen this silly trend on my blog too Chris. Definite no-no.

Ryan

Congratulations @chrisdeewaard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78