Strangers are Strange: I'm 'Sorry'

in #bloge7 years ago (edited)

I'm 'Sorry'

PoS-System-von-Elo-im-Einsatz.jpg
(Not me or anyone in particular. Google Images)

I have said before that I am hearing impaired/deaf and I am continually find myself apologising to strangers for this fact if I cannot hear what they say. For example

Situation 1:

Shop, point of sale exchange.
Sales Person: "That comes to $9.95"
Me: (Couldn't hear but body language indicate that payment is required)
"I'm sorry, I'm deaf. Can you repeat that please?"
The rest of the exchange goes smoothly.

Situation 2:

Other Person: (Says something that ends in a question to me. I couldn't hear it)
Me: "I'm sorry, I am deaf. Can you say that again?"
Rest of conversation goes okay with occasional prompting form me to repeat. OP is fine with this.

It is an auto response for me when interacting with unfamiliar people, I shouldn't have to apologise for something I have no control over. Doctor's don't know how the nerves on my cochlear became damaged, either hereditary or accident of some kind.

I'm going to try and break the habit of saying "I'm sorry/sorry" before I say I am deaf, will see how it goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56