Creating for free – bad idee

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Why I will never create for free again!



Some time ago I created a animated banner for a user on steem. Why? Because he asked for help and told me he would be using it on his blog and would share that I made it. All fun and games. So I would be getting free publicity for creating an animated banner.

I removed the name that was inside of the flames

banner-flames.gif

For everyone who knows photoshop and animations knows it isn’t that easy. And in general it takes a while. So I created a banner for him in about 2 hours. Knowing my normal rate is between 15-25€ a hour. I invested 30-50€ into this banner. Now at the time of finishing it up he asked me to do some alterations and change some things. Which I did for him, even though it was a freebie (with promise of publicity).


Now I noticed he used it a total of 2 times in his past 12 topics. When I asked him about it he told me “It is not really what I wanted and it is to busy”. Yeah ok why did he not tell me that when I created it? Taking one of those animations out takes me the full 1 second.
Took away the biggest ground flame in 1 second

banner-flames-less.gif

So after we talked he gave me the full 2$ for 2 hours of work and not using the banner. Now don’t get me wrong but 2$ and no publicity? What can I say about this? Well ty for nothing? I appreciate the honesty but I don’t appreciate the lack of courtesy. I know we agreed I would make it for free. But we agreed on publicity. I have no publicity. So a bit more respect and compensation would have been appreciated.

Sort:  

The world is oversupplied with jerks. Your customer is a jerk.

Sorry he/she/it did not live up to the agreement.

Too bad the jerk's name is not part of the public record.

That is out of respect for the privacy. If you really want to know some searches and knowledge of steem would help you :)

Actually, I really don't care who it is, although future possible victims may benefit from knowing.

Thanks for the suggestion, though. I was attempting to be supportive and express my displeasure at the jerk's inappropriate behavior.

Than i need to say Thank You :)

THEN I thank you for your thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ZoeF from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75